Skip to content

Went to the Park

May 27, 2009

So, I made it to the park Wendesday. I didn’t manage to run the whole way. I felt fine, could have run two or three miles the way I was feeling. Then half a mile in, sharp stabbing pain on the outside of my ankle. So I walked a block, tried running again, and sharp stabbing pain returns. So, I walked the rest of the way.

Once at the park I figured I’d skip jumping onto anything (you know, ankle pain). So, I climbed the pole a total of 15 times. The chest high bar, I lifted myself up onto until my arms were straight (mostly using momentum to get up there). Jumping up actually, it wasn’t the jumping that hurt, it’s the landing so jumping up that high was fine. I did that fifteen times as well. Then I hung upside down on the monkey bars hooking my legs so that I could do inverted sit ups. Fifteen of those. I did them pretty much five at a time (hehe, if you can call it that). By five at a time what I was really doing was doing each thing five times before moving on. Each time I’d climb that damn pole I’d have to walk around the equipment a few times to be able to try again. It was much MUCH harder than I thought it would be.

No workout yesterday, my friend had an Arbonne party so I went to that and didn’t get home till nearly 11pm. Tonight it’s raining and I might just sit on the couch watching movies. Haven’t decided yet. I’ll be having my own arbonne party in September so if any of you guys want to come from across the country, I’ve got a spare room ;).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. judie611 permalink
    May 28, 2009 6:26 AM

    Was it a playground or just a park? There was an issue of Self magazine a few months ago that featured a workout that you could do in a play ground. I had to show it to my friend b/c the model looked like she was 15 and certainly not a mom. Plus her outfit, well, it was cute but I would never wear something like that outside!

    The funny thing is that it did inspire me to try to workout when I took my girls to the park. I even tried doing tricep dips on the bench but then two nannies came over and made me move! Oh well, at least I tried.

    http://www.judiesjuice.wordpress.com

    • May 28, 2009 4:16 PM

      It was a playground. Around here, all parks are playgrounds, even the really nice ones. I’ll have to get that workout next time I’m at my mom’s. She subscribes to that one (and a few others).

  2. RobFitness permalink
    May 28, 2009 12:09 PM

    Sounds like you made the most out of your trip to the park. I bet you’re also loving the fact that you can get outdoors and enjoy the beautiful weather. It sure beats winter, doesn’t it. I am glad that your following through with your plan and I look forward to see what you do next.
    By the way i did post a link on my blog to the guest post that I did. Hope you check it out when you have a free moment.
    Enjoy you’re week-end..
    Catch ya later..
    PS Inverted sit ups seem painful, yet productive. 🙂

    • May 28, 2009 4:18 PM

      lol, I was feeling them for two days after! Josh and I are having a “date night” tonight so I’m not (again) doing my workout. But I’ll bring Karma with me tomorrow and Sunday so that’ll still be three times this week.

      I’ll head over to your guest post probably tomorrow. I’m about to make supper- so hopefully it will be edible. I nearly never cook.

Leave a Reply

