Skip to content

The Plan

May 20, 2009
tags: , ,

This week the plan is to just gorge myself on bad foods and catch up on housework, laundry, and SLEEP!

That will all change next week. This week I’m continuing with my very healthy lunches and those will go on and on forever. I’m getting in a salad a day five days per week at a minimum like I wanted, fruits and veggies, and for the past few weeks no rice, breads, or pasta except during one of my two cheat meals per week. I have been dipping my strawberries in sugar but I am trying to cut down on the sugar I use with them. This week I’ve had Culvers Monday night, pancakes and hashbrowns tuesday night, and tonight was pizza. Tomorrow is the tupperware party so I’m sure there will be snacks.

Next week I’ll be back on track with my two cheat meals per week and I’m going to get back to my workouts next week. Next week actually starts my bodyweight summer workouts. June, July, and August were to be bodyweight. Three nights per week (since for some reason 7pm is my best workout time). I’m planning to do at LEAST one workout per week at the park. I don’t have plyo boxes or a rope to climb so hopefully I’ll find something sufficient at the park. Plus my daughter will have fun at the park. Maybe she’ll like me better if I take her to the park more often… bribery you know. Since I’m hoping for five workouts per week, I’d like two of them to be weight lifting- Pavel suggests the side press and deadlifts. And that is actually all I plan to do with real weights. I’m going to be a bit non- commital about them and not worry about reps, weight, or really anything other than going to the basement and picking something up at least once when I do go down there.

My focus with the bodyweight exercises is first to be able to actually move my body through space without help. Think of those monkey bars… can you go all the way across? I don’t know if I can. That and pull ups and single leg squats. So basically, strength to move myself by myself. Last time I did a single leg squat, I needed a strap to help me. By summers end, I’d like to be able to do that by myself. No help. My second thing to focus on is power. I was thinking agility for awhile, but really, I’m thinking power would be better for now since that is where I am lacking more so than agility. Lots of jumping this summer even if I do have to bring out my coffee table to jump up to.

Of course summer also has nice extra’s. Swimming in our pool, running, and going for bike rides with Josh. I usually gain weight during summer and loose during winter so I’d like to break that trend.

So that’s the plan :). What are all of you up to for the summer?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    May 21, 2009 3:37 AM

    Summer? Summer’s 6 months away 😀
    I like the sound of a week of gorging! Personally I’m trying to get back on track this week.
    I like your plan of just focusing on moving about on things like monkey bars too. That sort of thing is always great fun too. Fun workouts are always easier.
    Good luck with it, I’m sure you’ll do great 😀

    • May 22, 2009 7:42 PM

      Around here, summer’s just starting :). You know, with my degree the only other country I could work is Australia. I think we should do a house sharing program where you stay there for winter and then come here for our winter. I’ll stay here for summer, then go there for your summer ;). Sounds like a great deal doesn’t it! Hehe, great deal for me :D.

      I did really well the past few weeks since I wasn’t working out. I knew that my nutrition was all that was getting me by so I held steady at 122.5 to 124.5 lbs. As of this am, even with my really awful food week, I was only at 125.5 lbs. Not terrible for a week of awful foods. I am getting some headaches though and I think it is from the excessive amounts of processed foods. Sometimes a reminder of what these “yummy” foods do to me is a needed thing. I wont miss them so much when I stop eating them again- which I think I’ll start tomorrow instead of Monday just because of how I’ve been feeling this past few days.

      • ladlam permalink
        May 26, 2009 3:41 AM

        Haha I could live with that deal, I love the snow and I have to go 5 hours away from home to find it in winter which sucks! Megan would not be so pleased though…
        That’s awesome, have to be pleased with being able to maintain your weight even with a terrible diet! Are you back in to the healthy eating now?

        • May 27, 2009 3:25 PM

          Yep, all healthy again :). Back to the two cheats per week with healthy food all the rest the time.

  2. Alyce permalink
    May 22, 2009 6:16 AM

    I bet that week of junk will be awesome for your metabolism! The summer workout plan sounds good, I like your bodyweight idea. It’s funny how easy those monkey bars seemed when I was younger, it’d be interesting to see if I can get across now. I bet it’d be hard. Good luck with your summer goals! 🙂

  3. May 22, 2009 7:44 PM

    I tried them awhile back and I can’t do them all the way across anymore. Hopefully by summers end I’ll be able to :). And inverted sit ups, hooking the legs on the monkey bars and pulling my head towards them without using my arms… wonder if I can do that! It’ll help that I’ll bring my daughter so I won’t look like the psycho stalker lady around the younger kids at the park. I’ll be there later though (7pm) so hopefully it’ll be more deserted than earlier in the day.

Leave a Reply

