Skip to content

Help! Hip Pain

April 12, 2009
tags: ,

I’ve been experiencing bilateral hip pain the past couple days. Usually this goes with my low back pain but I have nearly no back pain right now (never have no back pain). I’m not sure what’s causing the discomfort in my hips, but it’s more posterior and seems more muscular. If anyone has any suggestions, I’m willing to try them. So far I’m continuing with hamstring stretches (which help my back) and piriformis stretches. Doing bodyweight prisoner squats this AM were pretty damn uncomfortable!

Oh, and low back extension also causes increase pain in my hips.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    April 12, 2009 5:25 PM

    Too much dancing?… Not enough dancing?

  2. ladlam permalink
    April 13, 2009 2:07 AM

    Not enough kettlebells by the sound of it!
    Seriously though, that sucks Michelle. At least your back isn’t sore at the same time?

  3. April 13, 2009 6:46 AM

    Michelle, what muscle(s) are involved? Is it the QL, or the internal rotators, or the glutes (med or max?), or a combo?

    What have you done recently that would have caused it to flare up?

    • April 15, 2009 10:46 AM

      Josh, it seems to mostly be the external rotators. When I actively externally rotate (and sometimes with hip extension even passively with walking) it hurts. And when I passively (or sometimes actively) internally rotate it seems more of a pulling sensation. My piriformis is “chronically” tight but this is a bit above and beyond the pain I usually get in my hips. Most times it’s more of a nerve pain when my back hurts- pretty sure there is some nerve impingement when my back flares up. It’s a bit better than it was, but still here. I can’t think of anything specific I did to cause it to act up. I keep walking to try to help loosen it up but so far, not much help. Little, but not much. And I’ve been using my foam roller to hit some trigger points and to do the TFL for good measure though that’s not causing me much agony :).

  4. RobFitness permalink
    April 13, 2009 10:01 AM

    Sorry that you’re experiencing this pain and I wish I could do or say something that would make it go away. It’s never an easy issue dealing with pain but I guess as athletes we should get use to it or at least learn how to prevent them. I am not saying that you didn’t but sometimes we just push oour bodies a bit to far and things happen.
    let us know how you are doing though and if you figures out what could be the problem. Ever try seeing a doctor for this?
    Try to have the best day possible. I’ll be thinking about ya.

    • April 15, 2009 10:48 AM

      Rob, I do hate pain though! No, haven’t gone to a doctor. I’m of the idea that if I can still walk and sleep I don’t need to see a doctor. It still seems muscular in origin to me but still don’t know what I did to trigger it. Seemed to come on kind of sudden, built up over a day or two. It’s a little better now and I can walk a bit easier.

  5. Your kid permalink
    April 13, 2009 6:12 PM

    Hopefully you get better soon! 🙂

  6. April 14, 2009 6:45 AM

    Michelle, check out this article Cressey recently posted about hip pain – http://ericcressey.com/newsletter150html

    That being said, he doesn’t really address how to deal with it very well. I highly recommend the Egoscue method (as you know). Go out and buy the book “Pain Free,” (you can get it used on Amazon for $8) or go see a local Egoscue therapist.

    It’ll help!

    • April 15, 2009 10:51 AM

      I really should get that book! I thought about that book last time I had back pain and then the pain went away and I forgot about it completely. The nearest therapist is a good ways away so that probably wouldn’t work. They do some over the internet consulting though with pictures but say an in person meeting is pretty important. When they get one near me…

  7. April 15, 2009 8:41 AM

    Ice and Motrin always work well for me. I hope that the pain goes away soon.

  8. RobFitness permalink
    April 15, 2009 9:12 AM

    I hope you’re OK. You haven’t posted and You’re MIA 😦 Hope that the hip is feeling better. Try some aleve, that works for me…

  9. April 15, 2009 10:54 AM

    Thanks everyone for the comments here! I know I went MIA again, a couple exams this week (okay, three) and lots of homework to do. And a lot of stress on the home front as well so I haven’t been keeping up well. I’ve been trying to avoid the advil/motrin/aleve because I’ve had a bit of an upset stomach lately as well. I’m just falling apart! I’ve had an increase in migranes this past week as well leading to more of those meds I’m trying to avoid, leading to more stomach irritation, leading to more of me being irritated! So, today is a bit better day but I do have an exam to take later today so I have to get back to studying. Again.

  10. April 15, 2009 6:08 PM

    Hey Michelle,

    Here’s my two cents – get the Egoscue book (now, don’t wait…it’s $8), and start foam rolling your ITB, deep rotators, glutes, and lats. Use a foam roll every day, and when you can stand it, after the foam roll use a tennis ball the same way. Get in there deep and loosen that stuff up!

    Josh

Leave a Reply

