Skip to content

Easter Is Almost Here

April 10, 2009

So, yet another holiday where we will be with family and there will be lots of food. We thought we were safe, with Thanksgiving and Christmas done and gone for now anyway. Yet, here is another holiday thrown at us! Okay, not thrown, but you know all the food that will be at grandma’s… And you know how good a cook she is… And you KNOW there will be pies!

So, what to do in this crazy world where no one else has the same idea of health that we do? Go ahead and eat is what I’m planning to do. But I’m going to share it all with my daughter. I might want a whole piece of apple pie, but I can be okay with just a bite of her cherry pie. The big thing will be the potatoes. There will be ham, but I don’t eat ham. It’s those darn scalloped potatoes that get me every year. I could fill an entire plate with them. But I’m going to be smart about it this year. Just one serving should be fine this year. I probably will eat nearly my full day of calories at Grandma’s this year. But for supper (if we’re even hungry later) will be a healthy salad. And I don’t eat breakfast so I don’t have any morning calories to account for. All good there :). Overall it’s not the calories I’m worried about. Its that the foods I’ll be eating are many of my “banned” foods. I think for holidays and big occasions it’s okay to eat of the plan. Not for the whole day, but a couple hours isn’t going to mess up anyone’s entire life (unless they eat something prepared with peanut oil and are allergic to peanuts or something).

The key isn’t controlling what you eat at the party, it’s watching what you eat when you’re home. If you’re doing well 80-90% of the time, that one occasion isn’t going to hurt you. It’s something I haven’t been doing well with this past week or two- watching what I’m having at home. My posts have been down in part because of that. It’s hard to admit I’m not doing well and I know it’s my own fault. I’ve put priority on things other than my health this past couple weeks (like my daughters room and learning to play chess). But I do need to refocus. The issue is that I don’t want to refocus right now. I have no desire to refocus. I think it’s time for me to take some time off work (hahaha) and decide what I need to do for me.

I know I’m not the only person who has had difficulty sticking to an eating plan. It’s just like exercise, we know the benefits and the consequences yet somehow they seem far off. In this world of immediate gratification my joy at eating something now doesn’t correlate well to my increased risk of heart disease in the future. I’ve managed to stay away from fried foods, but I’m back to drinking sodas again. I’m excusing myself and waiting till my next three weeks to restart not drinking them (again). I think the three week binge on them will be a good lesson in the long run (hehe, more excuses). I know I have more tension in my muscles when I drink caffine and it does affect digestion for me. I know when I stop drinking them I’ll feel better yet here I am wanting them for another week and a half.

I suppose, I’ve rambled long enough and not given out any good ways to stick to anything this Easter. If you’re doing better than I (which you probably are) tell me to get back on track :).

And of course, post what works for you when you have cravings.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    April 10, 2009 4:31 PM

    I can safely say that I never ate too much for any holiday. I will not have any problems for Easter…

    You went back to soda?… I still drink soda, but I am trying to at least cut out the soda with caffeine…

  2. April 11, 2009 2:25 PM

    Tim, I beg you to overeat! You need to gain some weight :). I’m back to soda :(. A bit dissapointing, but it is what it is. What are you up to next weekend? I’m thinking of coming down to appleton but haven’t decided for sure yet.

  3. Tim permalink
    April 11, 2009 5:05 PM

    I don’t have anything planned next weekend… I do know that I am on call Saturday morning. (This means I can’t go out Friday night). I know that I do not have anything planned for Saturday night.

    Hon… I weigh more than you do… and I think YOU are too skinny…

  4. ladlam permalink
    April 12, 2009 5:07 AM

    Hah. I think we’re cosmically linked via the stomach Michelle. My eating hasn’t been too awesome recently either. Not terrible, but not really where I wanted it either. We have our ups and downs though, I’ve got 2 weeks holidays now so I’m hoping to sort out my diet and get back in to a good workout routine…

    • April 12, 2009 6:38 AM

      I caught up on my sleep so hopefully I can start fresh tomorrow (since I already had two donuts today). My weight is up a bit from earlier this week. I knew it woud be. Just means I need to kick myself in the ass. I hope you’re able to get back on track more easily than I’ve been able to. It’s been a struggle but the weather warming up will hopefully help so I can finally run again. Even if my time is abysmal!

      Tim, on call? Crazyness! I’m not much of a Friday night kind of girl anyway so it’d be Saturday. I’m going to plan out my week this afternoon so I’ll know in a few hours if I’ll need to work Sunday but I’m pretty sure I won’t need to.

Leave a comment