Skip to content

The Grand Finale

April 7, 2009

Pictures detail sequence of getting it done!

Missing is the origional color, it was a light purple.
So we painted everything white.
Then I put up tape, one foot apart vertical and horizontal to make the one foot squares with an inch between each square.
Then we painted over the tape with the base color (to seal the tape so the colors wouldn’t bleed under the tape). That is in the first picture.
Second picture, green is done!
Third picture, we added pink to the mix.
Fourth picture, blue was finally done.
And lastly, purple was up. I pulled off one thing of tape there. You can sort of see the difference from the sharp contrast between the squares with the tape off vs the more blurred edges while the tape was still on :). This project was very time consuming but very rewarding!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 4:35 AM

    That is really, really weird. I did my girls room very similarly at one point in time. Here’s a link to a pic of it http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i271/tresmom6/100_0370.jpg I just painted their room a couple months ago, but before then it looked very close to yours. My daughters birthday is also this week (tomorrow actually). Hope your daughter loved the room make over! It looks awesome.

    • April 8, 2009 5:13 AM

      Great minds think alike :). I was hoping for yellow to break up the darker colors, but Karma didn’t want yellow. How old is your daughter now? Karma just turned 11 last night.

      • April 8, 2009 9:18 AM

        My oldest daughter is turning 8 tomorrow. I have another one with a birthday in April as well. She’ll be 6. Birthdays are so exciting at that age.

        • April 8, 2009 11:37 AM

          Happy Birthday to your daughter as well Teresa! They’re fun when they’re young yet. Why must they get older :(.

  2. RobFitness permalink
    April 8, 2009 6:15 AM

    Yes now I can see why you have benn MIA. That room looks so fabulous and I have to say you did a great job there. I have a room that need to be done over so anytime you’re free, just come on by. Maybe next winter when you’re cussing because of all the snow and cold. 🙂 Then again it’s probably still winter there. isn’t it.
    It does look really good 🙂 Plus a belated Happy Birthday to your little darling.
    So how’s the studies doing? Hopefully those are progressing along just as well. Do you have your own study area to get away from it all as well? Finally, what’s the next big project you have planned?
    I am so glad that you are back in action.. 🙂

    • April 8, 2009 11:36 AM

      Studies going well :). I haven’t even looked at my physics in the last three weeks but that should be all right. I’ll get it done by next Wednesday even if it kills me.

      My next big project is again in my daughters room to build a closet/dresser/bookshelf/window seat. It is actually going to be along that one big open wall- all that painting just to cover it up! LOL, anyway, her closet now is going to be closed off (so I’ll have to paint over that eventually) and it’ll be eventually added to her bathroom to make the bathroom more functional.

      I’ll be getting in some better posts later, but before I do, I have a lot of you guys to see! I still haven’t gotten caught up on your blog, but I should be by tonight if all goes well :).

Leave a Reply

