Skip to content

New Routines!

April 1, 2009

So while in physics today I put together my new routine. Of course, I am also subjecting my husband to my diabolical routine :). It’s actually not too bad. Our plan is to pull a random card from the deck (we have four aces, four deuces, four three’s) One corresponds to workout A, Deuce to workout B, Three to workout C. You get the idea I hope! Then that workout it done and taken out of circulation so our last one of the week we don’t pull the card because we only have cards that correspond to that workout by then. The reps are in a five five, 4 by 8, or 3 sets with 12 reps sheme. Those also correspond to the ace, deuce, and three of the cards. Only difference is that the cards go back in. We could do all 5×5 or none that way. We might end up with one of each. Never know. Keeps things interesting! Then I never have to go down dreading a heavy night or go down dreading a light night with higher reps that sometimes take longer. I can just go down and get what I get. Also, I never have to dread a specific exercise (except the last workout of the week) because we don’t know what we’re getting till we get there.

It’s a three day routine of weights (five day plan, but two are “variety” days taken from the kettlebell routine).

Here’s A:
Superset One: Deadlift from floor with Squats from Box (dumbbells)
Superset Two: Incline Press with seated cable rows
Superset Three: Sidepress from floor (Dumbbell) with double leg raise in captains chair
Then for fun, some cardio intervals to end it all- up and down the stairs for five minutes Josh and I taking turns.

Routine B:
Superset One: Stiff leg deads with step ups (dumbbell)
Superset Two: Overhead Press (from floor) with pull ups
Superset Three: Alternating lunges (dumbells) with cable side pulls (the trunk rotation thingey)
Topped off with tabata burpee’s for me and mountain climbers for Josh

Routine C:
Superset One: Squats and static lunges (can’t alternate with a bar, I just don’t have the balance)
Superset Two: Push ups with high pulls
Superset Three: Single leg squat with back extension on ball
And dessert here is the tabata jumping jacks

I have a tabata timer on my computer now from the great people over at Mark’s Daily Apple. One of his commenters gave me a link to a couple different ones. The one I linked to even talks to you. Tells you when you rest so you don’t actually have to look at it (which is sort of hard to do if you’re jumping up and down with burpees).

So, anyone see any glaring mistakes in my routines? Anything you’d change? No adding though, it’s long enough as is! 45 minutes-ish today. It was good to work out with Josh even if he does complain a bit about using dumbbells. I enjoy that we do something together :).

It’s nice to be back to the iron plates!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:36 PM

    Looks like a heavy routine!
    The only thing I have to offer is maybe re-think the overhead press/pullups. You’d be working similar muscles there, especially doing the press from the floor, and I don’t think you’d make the most of the pullups afterwards.
    Other than that I love it. I’ll have to give it a try when I (eventually!!) get a barbell – got to love the push/pull super sets 😀

    • April 2, 2009 6:40 PM

      I’m really evil about the press from the floor. We had a sidepress from the floor last night. I love that kind of stuff :). I’m probably going to leave that one in there but see your point about from the floor. That sort of makes it a pull/push exercise in and of itself. If after trying it, it’s too much, then I’m thinking I’ll drop the “from the floor” and make it just a plain military press.

  2. jleeger permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:41 PM

    looks good!

  3. Josh permalink
    April 2, 2009 10:57 AM

    Needs more excerises like the Pec Deck!

    • April 2, 2009 6:42 PM

      Hahaha, NO PEC DECK for you!!! Hehehe :). Want to do some more stair sprints ;). I finally got that life insurance policy :D.

Leave a Reply

