Skip to content

Depressed? Just Drink the Water…

April 1, 2009

We’ve known for a long time that there is STUFF in our water. Minerals, chemicals, hormones, medicines… wait did I say hormones and medicines? Yes I did. Hormones- or endocrine chemicals- are not able to be taken out of our drinking water by the filtration in use in our water suppliers today. Lots of medications that I don’t need are also in the water. Heart meds, antiseizure meds, and depression/anxiety meds.

Here’s my personal stance on medications- don’t take them unless you absolutely need them in order to function. So, no birth control for me. But guess what? I’m taking birth control every time I fill up a tall glass of water. So are you. So are your kids and family members. But don’t worry, our government isn’t worried either. The’re not making any changes right now and I don’t see it coming soon either. I’d rather not drink someone else’s birth control or depression meds, but as it is not an immediate threat to us, the government continues to overlook this horrible situation. I might not die tomorrow, but I’m certain this is affecting my long term health.

Every time someone takes a medication, it is eventually processed by the liver and then the kidneys. After the kidneys it goes to the bladder and from there to the toilet. That waste water ends up in a water treatment center to be processed back to us to drink, use for showers, and reuse for waste water. It’s an ongoing process.

The problem I see with birth control hormones in our water is that it is already affecting marine wildlife. The reproductive processes of fish and other aquatic animals is being affected. If it’s affecting fish, it’s likely to affect us over time as well. Good thing we don’t live in the water or we might already be affected. It could mean decreased testicular and ovary formation, smaller penis for men in the long run (thankfully Josh was born before the water went bad!), infertility problems in both men and women.

Also in our water, antibiotics. We’re using antibiotics like crazy here in the US. We’re antibiotic crazy. Antibiotic hand soap, antibiotic shampoo (okay, maybe not that one), antibiotic hand sanitizer, antibiotic dishsoaps, antibiotic household cleansers. All this ends up in the water supply eventually as well. We’re our own worst enemy at creating antibiotic resistant strains of bacteria.

So, maybe there IS something to the saying, “don’t drink the water”.

Here’s a good informative read if you’d like to know more.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    April 1, 2009 9:31 PM

    “(thankfully Josh was born before the water went bad!)” Haha! I needed a good chuckle today, thanks 😀
    Definitely something I haven’t really considered…. I drink most of my water at work, which goes through a water purifier – don’t know how much help that is but hopefully better than nothing.

    • April 2, 2009 6:37 PM

      The purifier I’m sure helps with some contaminants but not with hormones. And birth control is a hormone :(. So you’re stuck taking birth control! hehe. At least you’re getting some of the extra junk out though. Better than nothing.

  2. RobFitness permalink
    April 2, 2009 7:43 AM

    As always i knew I could count on you to give us something to think about and consider. I agree with you for the most part and I can see were all the results of the studies come from. A lot of what we eat and drink does contain many chemicals that we shouldn’t be consuming into our bodies. I guess that’s why we try to eat “clean” right? Won’t that help us out? I know we can’t get away from drinking water and that’s why I usually only drink water that has been filtered a bit. I see from that article that there has been no real tests done on bottled water so I guess we might never know those results. I just have to trust that these companies are filtering all the bad chemicals out of what we drink.
    I have drank tap water and maybe that’s why I am not pregnant either 🙂 Just trying to add some humor to my day.
    A very good post! Love what you write, my friend.

    • April 2, 2009 6:38 PM

      LOL Rob, you crack me up! I sure hope you’re not pregnant! I think eating clean will help our bodies to process the junk in the water. I just hope that things change before test tube babies are a reality from lack of fertility.

  3. April 4, 2009 6:49 AM

    Hmm, that birth control water hasn’t been working well for me Michelle, lol. I guess you’ve given me some motivation to start guzzling water, lol. Just kidding.

    • April 6, 2009 1:34 PM

      Teresa, I’m going with that you’re just extra fertile! At least right now, quantities are quite low and aren’t really affecting us MUCH. But it is affecting us to a small degree right now. What really worries me is that these concentrations will just continue to get higher as time goes on. During my lifetime I don’t even know if it will be a huge issue but I’m sure it will impact our children in a more major way. Ah well, I better get back to my project! Pictures hopefully coming SOON!!! (hopefully)

Leave a Reply

