Skip to content

Six Pack Abs and Why I Don’t Have Them

March 29, 2009

I’ve got to admit, I do NOT have a six pack. I’d like a six pack and once upon a time my nick name was Shellie six pack belly. (Shellie is a nickname for Michelle). I had an awesome six pack back then. I was also nearly 95 lbs back then. I dont think I’ll EVER be 95 lbs again and at my height, I don’t want to be that thin. By the end of high school I’d given birth to my first child and my six pack was sent into oblivion. I was still only about 114 lbs, but those weren’t 114 lbs of pure muscle. You might have heard the term skinny fat, well that was me. Skinny fat is when a person’s weight puts them in a average to below average category but their body fat percent is in a higher category.

I’d love to have a six pack again but now I’ve given birth twice. Does that mean it’s impossible? Hell no! I could still get that six pack back. However a six pack takes tons of work AND dedication. Getting the six pack isn’t nearly as hard as KEEPING the six pack! At least in my opinion. To get the six pack I’d have to eat much better than I am now, decrease my body fat percent, and increase my lean muscle mass. Overall, not too hard a thing to do really looking at the big picture. It’ll take hard work and dedication definitely. But the harder part will be keeping that six pack for the years to come. If I want to keep that six pack a year or more (which I do), I’ll have to remain dedicated that entire time! No refined carbs to fluff me up here. Still eating them now, but I’ve cut back substantially.

It is my goal to get to that six pack by the end of this year.

The Six Pack Workout:
It will include running, KB swings, pull ups/chin ups, floor to ceiling lifts like side presses and overhead presses picking the weight up from the floor. Deadlifts will definitely find their place in my workouts as well. I’m planning on doing more yoga/pilates but thats more for flexibility rather than actual six pack work. My flexibility is leaving much to be desired.

Enough about six packs :). Last night I went out with my friend Stephanie. We went to Park Central in Appleton where we met up with our friend Tim. We had a great time out at Park! Danced nearly all night. Then we went to Senior Tequila’s. They lost their liquor licence for serving a minor so we didn’t stay long. I don’t drink, but Stephanie does and it’s her only night out in a long time! I danced with a guy there, Hugo, who had to be in his mid to late fourties. But damn, could he dance! He lied to me and told me he couldn’t dance at first. The second time I came around he told me I’d have to lead. I’m not good at leading salsa, but I managed I guess. After that he lead and I found out he was lying about not being able to dance. Good thing he lead, too, because I don’t know the steps or which steps to use for each song. We stayed there for about an hour working up a sweat. It’s by far my favorite place to dance but I understand it’s boring for whoever I’m with because often they’re stuck not doing anything at all unless they find themselves someone to dance with. With the lack of alcohol there, not as many available guys were there to dance with. It’s usually more men than women and usually the men like to dance, too.

I can smell bacon! Yum!!!! (It is turkey bacon). My husband, the wonderful guy he is, is making me breakfast in bed. I think he thinks I’m still sleeping :). I didn’t tell him I woke up about a half hour ago. I didn’t get home till four so getting up at 10:45 is perfectly acceptable. I suppose, I’m going to head over and see what you all are up to! It’s been a bit since I was able to check in!

Now, get to work on your six pack!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tim permalink
    March 29, 2009 12:15 PM

    I had great time dancing with you and stephanie last night… I hope you aren’t too sore today. My thighs and calves hurt a little, but since I do a moderate amount of walking, it doesn’t hurt as much as it used to.

    Anytime you want to come down to dance, let me know.

    • March 29, 2009 3:05 PM

      I’m thinking I’ll head down that way again and see if Hugo is out as Sr Tequila’s again. Damn, could he dance! I had a great time as well. Not sore at all from the dancing or anything. My legs tolerate that stuff pretty well with all the squats and deadlifts I do at home. Anytime you’re going out to the clubs, let me know and if I don’t have to work I’ll drive down. If I have to work, I wont go to appleton but I might go out in GB here for a bit but that’s a long drive for you being in Neenah.

      See you soon :).

  2. ladlam permalink
    March 29, 2009 10:54 PM

    Michelle I think you’ll find you won’t need to do a whole lot of exercise to find your 6 pack again. God knows the kettlebell is more than qualified to sort that out! Probably the truest thing I’ve ever read about 6 packs is that they’re made in the kitchen….

    • March 30, 2009 5:20 AM

      Yep, you’ll notice no ab exercises in my upcoming plans :). We’re actually done with the kettlebell for now. We’re starting a new 12 wek program. Five weeks of work, one week rest, times two :). Those six packs are made in the kitchen, you’re right on that. Diet is probably the most important aspect.

  3. April 16, 2009 9:43 AM

    Keeping the abs visable is all about the nutrition. You cannot out traina poor diet.

Leave a Reply

