Skip to content

I Don’t Know How to Lose Weight: Part Three

March 27, 2009

That above is something you might have heard in some way or another. I’ve heard it, though not often. I’ve heard all sorts of excuses as well. “I can’t lose weight because I’m genetically predisposed” or “I can’t lose weight because I don’t have time to exercise”.

Well, for the first one, I highly doubt the genetic predisposition is so great nothing could be done. For the second, that’s just fine! Dont exercise at all, just eat right. Everyone has to eat whether they’re busy or not, so why not eat something that will help with being healthy?

I think we all make excuses to some degree. I know I do, this whole past 14 days is an excuse on top of another excuse. I’m making a big excuse pile and hoping it doesn’t topple over and squash me.

There are people though that will swear that no matter what they do they can absolutely not loose weight. I went to lunch with a girl who says she can’t loose weight because of a thyroid issue. We did go to McDonalds. I had a grilled chicken salad with balsalmic vinagrette and a light lemonade. For my side I had apple slices and caramel dip. Total calories- right about 350 including the drink and apples. What she had- the same salad but with crispy chicken (add 200 or more calories just for crispy alone). Then regular ranch dressing (add another hundred on top of what I ate). Then a cheeseburger. Oh, and she did have crutons. Then for a drink, a regular coke. If I had to guess, her’s added up to about 950-1000 calories. That’s just lunch folks! It’s not genetic, it’s not a thyroid issue. It’s just plain eating crap foods.

I can understand why people say they don’t have time to workout as well. Hell, I think my life is pretty damn busy! Working 32-40 hours per week, college classes nearly full time and then the extra six hours of required scanning to do per week really add up. That’s all before I add in cleaning my house and having time with my daughter and husband. I understand lack of time. But, like I said above, nutrition is more important for weight loss than exercise is. It’s great if they can go hand in hand, but if you’re only going to do one or the other, then start to eat right. No matter how busy any of us are, we all have to eat. And yes, even McDonalds does have salads if you really need to go through a drive through.

Another thing with exercise and people GAINING weight is that there are people out there who will eat more because they feel entitled to since they worked out a bit. Well, those three hundred calories on the elliptical trainer don’t go very far with pie, cake, chips, cookies, or fried foods. Eating one appetizer of fried mushrooms or cheese curds can kill a whole week’s worth of workouts in one sitting alone. Portion control is important and so is not binging because of the workout. Workouts do NOT mean binge eating is okay.

Some people go with the I’m too tired to exercise excuse. I can get this one, too. But then when they stay up online or watching TV till 12 or 2 am, does that I’m too tired excuse really hold much water? Maybe get to sleep rather than wasting time on lifeless activities would help with the fatigue. Not that online stuff is bad necessarily, but like anything, people have the ability to overdo it. We’re amazing creatures when it comes to that. I recall my first forum experience and waking up at 2 am and checking to see if anyone replied to my post or replied to my reply… I’m not that crazy anymore and realize that whatever they say will be there when I get there. It’s not going away. Those TV shows don’t go away either. If they’re really that important, they can be rented. Extra bonus there when renting the DVD is no commercials so less time is wasted.

For anyone interested:
Here’s part one about calorie restriction
And here’s part two about quick fixes

What are your excuses not to work out? Any you’d like to share?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2009 6:19 PM

    Yes, I’m answering my own post with my favorite excuse- I’m too tired to work out. Yet I do catch myself up later than I should be at times. Not till 1 am or anything like that, but later than needed. I know if I really wanted to fix this, I could start doing my bedtime routine every night and I’d also get better sleep. I do wake up frequently in the night and having that bedtime routine helps me to not wake up as often.

  2. March 29, 2009 3:08 PM

    Just had to comment that I had to delete yet another comment for Acia Berry! Seriously, it’s products like that which lead to the confusion people have about losing weight. See quick fixes in part two for more on that CRAP!

    Please, if you’re liking to your weight loss supplement site, don’t bother. I will delete that spam with no remorse! It does no good for anyone and you lining your pockets with other people’s confusion about weight loss is just shitty. You should be ashamed of yourself!

Leave a Reply

