Skip to content

Quite Depressing

March 19, 2009
tags:

So, I did it. I went out there in the freezing WI weather and ran a mile (if you can call it running, more like a fast walk).

11:57. Yeah, that bad… I was able to do it in a bit under nine on this route last year (down hill the way out, uphill the way back. I’m doomed to the hill because I live on the high point. Even if I went the other direction, I’d still be going uphill on the way back. I couldnt remember my turning point for the blocks to go south instead of east or west. South is fairly level and I could do that in a bit under eight min last year on good days.

I did miss my workout again last night. It was just not a good night. I felt awful and had another exam to take (I really did!). That was my fourth exam in seven days.

So, off to work now! See ya’ll later :).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2009 6:35 AM

    Well, at least you got out there and did something. Good luck with your exams. I hope those are over with for you soon.

    • March 19, 2009 7:53 PM

      Teresa, I’m afraid the exams will never end! We’ve learned that our profession is pushing for the national boards for physics to be taken EVERY five years. That sort of sucks… I don’t want to have to take a 200 or more question exam every five years. Who wants to remember that stuff that long?

      I’m hoping to get out again tomorrow morning if it’s a tad warmer. I’ll be checking the weather forcast soon!

  2. RobFitness permalink
    March 19, 2009 8:49 AM

    I agree at least you went and got out there! I commend you for that move alone . 🙂
    You know if you ever get motivated enough you can run with me here. That’s as soon as my allergies clear up.
    You are one brave gal going out there in that weather. Isn’t it Spring there yet or doesn’t that happen till July 🙂
    You are doing good my friend…

    • March 19, 2009 7:50 PM

      Hi Rob :). It was damn cold out there! The weather was good the past couple days. Then today happened…. with that snow. I just don’t get it! It’s awful! It was (in my mind anyway) supposed to stay warm and not get cold again. We’ve had snow storms as far out as May so the worst of winter could still come.

  3. Tim permalink
    March 19, 2009 4:04 PM

    Four exams in seven days?…Sounds like Midsemester to me…. Hopefully you can rest up a little for Spring Break… I mean other than working two jobs…

    • March 19, 2009 7:46 PM

      It is about that time, just a rough week! I do work both jobs this upcoming weekend… but then I have a week off of classes but not off work. I have a couple people I’ll be picking up for because of vacations. One girl scheduled hers during my spring break so I could help out with her people. I’m glad to help though, we need the extra $$$.

  4. jleeger permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:06 PM

    Michelle, who cares what your time was?! You did something. Still, I definitely advise against running in bad conditions…especially when you’re just getting back into it. I’ve never had a worse ankle sprain than the time I decided to go for a jog with ice still on the ground back in VA. My ankle was the size of a grapefruit. Bad.

    • March 19, 2009 7:45 PM

      Hi Josh! I’m still a tad disappointed but hey, i’ll live :). The roads and sidewalks are good. Snow and ice has melted mostly except where large piles were. It was sixty eight degrees day before yesterday and yesterday got up into the sixties as well! Then today… IT SNOWED!!!! ARG!!! I wont run with ice on the ground. I’m just not that daring!

Leave a Reply

