Skip to content

Are You Eating Dog Food?

March 17, 2009

I think you are ;).

Did you know that dog food goes through a similar processing as all processed foods?

Did you know cereal is processed? So is bread. So is that crap in a box that you feed your kids.

Processed human foods are no more than the equivalent of dog food for humans.

Do you think your body really deserves low quality processed dog food over healthy foods? I don’t. I think our bodies deserve better. Our bodies deserve high quality foods that actually contain nutrients that are usable to us.

Maybe you’re wondering what ISN’T processed. You might be thinking about what you ate today, the cereal and milk for breakfast. The chips from the vending machine before lunch. The McDonalds burger and fries with a coke for lunch. The cookies for an afternoon snack. The hamburger helper for dinner. The late night snack of pretzels and dip. If that looks like your typical day, the only thing that is good out of the whole day is the meat in the hamburger helper. The rest is just glorified dog food.

Things that are not processed- fruits, vegetables, and meats. There are some processed meats to avoid- sandwich meat or “lunch meat” is no good. Hot dogs are just plain nasty, how can you even put that in your mouth? And be careful with the ground meats. Good meats are organ meats, including brain of an animal- not that I’d try it, but you can ;). Other good meats are steaks that have not undegone a huge processing. Many “frozen” meats have fillers in them. Some state that they’re up to 15% filler. That means processed. Stick to the fresh meats from the butcher if you can. We happen to have a great one of these places just down the road from us. Not even a mile.

Now please, put down the dog food!

Thanks :).

16 Comments leave one →
  1. jleeger permalink
    March 17, 2009 9:26 PM

    HAHAHA! RUFF!

  2. steven permalink
    March 18, 2009 6:34 AM

    hahaha… The things you have to say crack me up… After reading this.. I threw away all my cereal.. And bought a box of perina.. Your right.. Tastes the same with milk.. Dont get old roy..It doesnt have that great same taste.. hehehe

    • March 18, 2009 10:51 AM

      See, told you, it’s all the same :). you know, the dog food is probably better for you. They have stricter nutritional guidelines than cereal does.

  3. RobFitness permalink
    March 18, 2009 9:41 AM

    Love the post! You always make such valid points. I try my best to eat clean and think that is the point that you were trying to make. It isn’t always easy but after you read about how the food is processed and what is in some of this stuff, especially hot dogs, you too would throw the crap away. I was surprised that you would mention “organ” meats. I can only imagine the fear you feel to try them. Don’t worry I am the same way when it comes to that. I say NO thank you!
    How do you feel about organic foods? Do you think it’s a waste of money?
    by the way thanks for your comments and encouraging words. It was rough there for a time and eating bad was how I coped with it. Not something I am proud of, but it was a learning experience. Next time I hope to deal with it in a more productive way.

  4. March 18, 2009 10:55 AM

    Rob, I wont be trying organ meats, but they are really good for you if you can tolerate them.

    I think organic foods are great if you can afford them and find them readily. I don’t think our genetically enhanced foods are all that terrible vs processed foods. I think the benefits from organic vs our genetically enhanced hasn’t been really well documented so for now, I’m happy with my genetically enhanced veggies and fruits. I do think for meats though, that natural is better. Adding things to our meat is not okay in my opinion. Feeding our chicken antibiotics is also not something I’m particularly pleased with but I do eat farm raised chicken rather than free range just because of cost. Maybe when I graudate and actually start making some money, that might change.

  5. judie611 permalink
    March 18, 2009 11:58 AM

    I better put down this Filet o’ Fish then, huh?? Well, I’m not actually eating one but every so often I get a craving for one. Uh oh…

    • March 19, 2009 6:06 AM

      No worries, I had pizza last night :). I’m not free of the dog food myself yet 😉

  6. Chris Brown permalink
    March 18, 2009 8:00 PM

    I love how you linked processed food to dog food!!!!!!!!!! People wouldn’t think of eating purina puppy chow for breakfast (I know, there’s always outliers… :P), yet thats basically what they’re doing with most meals of the day!

    • March 19, 2009 7:54 PM

      Chris, I posted a reply earlier but I think it got eaten! Now I can’t remember all I wrote and I’m starting to drift off to sleep in my chair here. Long day but a good day. My friend came back earlier this week from overseas in the army. We got to spend the night together today :).

  7. March 19, 2009 6:37 AM

    We get our meat from a farmer so that helps, but I will have to say I am guilty of eating process foods. I go through spells where I am good about eating cleaner and then spells where I am tired and lazy.

    • March 19, 2009 7:51 PM

      Teresa, those processed foods just taste so damn yummy! I did have cereal a few days back (though overall, I don’t miss it- there just wasn’t any other good options besides chips in the vending machine). I think we all go through those cycles. I’m just hoping my clean cycles are longer than my processed ones!

  8. March 19, 2009 9:26 AM

    HAHA, love it. I remember buying a cereal a few years ago, turning the box to the side, and falling out of my seat. The cereal was actually made by Purina! It tasted so gross after that, I had to throw it away. I wonder if Purina still makes cereal…

    • March 19, 2009 7:48 PM

      That is just gross! See, cereal is dog food! Well, it’d actually be very very low quality dog food. It wouldn’t even pass the regulations for dog food nutrition, yet we eat it ourselves… Cereal has been amazingly easy for me to give up and it’s not even on my list of things to cut from my diet yet. I was just thinking about it and how processed and worthless it is… and now I just dont want it!

  9. jleeger permalink
    March 21, 2009 11:42 AM

    I actually read a study a few years ago that compared a population of rats that were fed cereal with a group that were fed the cereal box. The group that were fed the cereal box actually lived longer!

Leave a Reply

