Skip to content

Routines

March 12, 2009

People hear the word routine and they think boring. I hear routine and I think one less thing to think about.

Routines are great. Really they are. They help decrease the time it takes to do necessary daily activities. I can get up and leave my house in fifteen minutes because I have a routine every morning. I know exactly how long it will take and then I’m out the door. I don’t have to think about what I have to do in the morning because it’s done the same way every day until I start running in the AM again. Even then, it won’t drastically change what I do. It just means I put my running clothes on not my work clothes. Then I’ll have an after run routine. It’ll get me out the door and to work in the same amount of time every day.

After work, another routine. Before bed… another routine. See Flylady.com for ideas for your own routines if you like.

Routines are mindless once you have them down. You don’t need to think about them. If you have to think about doing something, chances are you’re not going to want to do it. Now if it’s part of a habit, then it’s easy. You just seem to automatically do it. No fluff, no fuss. Routines leave room for your brain to think of other more important things. Routines open up area’s of your life for creativity as well. Having structure allows your brain to focus on other creative endeavors rather than having to worry if you took the trash out or not.

Start small and build on a routine. It doesn’t have to be anything major. It could be just shower, brush teeth, get dressed. It could be much more. Routines are very individual specific because we all have slightly different needs and different priorities.

Routines make life easy.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. run4change permalink
    March 12, 2009 4:20 PM

    I love routine. In fact, I made up my mind about ten years ago that I would work hard to find joy in the daily “boring” routine. I have found it. There is much love for the mundan for me. I don’t ever get bored now because I have learned to appreciate the small things and the small pieces of my routines

    • March 12, 2009 8:25 PM

      Jason, I just love how automatic routines are! I haven’t even thought about getting ready for work and I’m already out the door. Gives me time to mentally prepare for the day ahead and what order I need to see my patients to get them done as quickly and efficiently as possible.

  2. jleeger permalink
    March 12, 2009 5:05 PM

    Amen

  3. March 12, 2009 7:23 PM

    I totally agree with you! I have a routine for everything, and I really don’t like when my normal routine gets messed up. This is how I get myself to the gym everyday. I made it a routine that I go for 30 minutes at lunchtime and 30 minutes right after work. Now if I don’t go one of those times my day just doesn’t feel right. Although my old routines are getting really screwed up due to my pregnancy…my normal running days don’t exist anymore and since I am not supposed to run I have no desire to do any other cardio. I need to sit down and create a new cardio routine, that is the hardest part, creating the routine!

    • March 12, 2009 8:29 PM

      Lisa, you’re right! Just figuring out what will work for you, the initial trial and error, is the hardest part. Once a person is past that, the ease of the routine is amazing! Congrats on your pregnancy! How far along are you?

      • March 13, 2009 6:08 AM

        I am 16 weeks with twins. I am not the same person at the gym anymore, but I am still going and doing what I can!

        • March 13, 2009 1:51 PM

          I headed over to your blog and saw that you’re having twins! I always wanted twins- two kids, one pregnancy. I’m certain my idea of how fun that would be is really totally wrong. No running must be hard! For me it’s lifting heavy stuff. If I had to give that up, I’d probably cry. I love it.

  4. ladlam permalink
    March 12, 2009 10:14 PM

    You’re starting to sound like a cat Michelle 😉
    I love routine, especially in food. I love getting up and knowing exactly what to have for breakfast and lunch every day!

Leave a Reply

