Skip to content

Tonight’s Kettlebell Workout

March 11, 2009

Tonight isn’t a good night for my arms! They’re tired from yesterday even though I didn’t really work arms a ton yesterday (just some push ups and then holding the bar for deadlifts). I managed the 35lb kettlebell for five ladders, two rungs each. Pull ups with the press ladders to coincide. For the pull ups, I didn’t do all full range, I am attempting to focus on the bottom of the rep where I have the most trouble. I did one pull up with each first rung and two partial range for the second rungs.

After that, I pulled a three and a four out of the deck. Seven minutes of swings. Not too shabby there. Good mid-range for a night when my arms were already a tad (or a lot) fatigued from the heavier presses. My medium night was actually less than my light night a couple days ago. However, I had two days of rest before my light night. I might have to alter the two so the light night is Wednesday and the medium is Monday.

I have yet another exam to take tonight. I’m going to study for the next hour and then take my exam. I might do another post tonight. Maybe not though. Who knows :).

Wish me luck on my exam!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jleeger permalink
    March 11, 2009 7:55 PM

    Good luck on your exam!

    • March 11, 2009 8:21 PM

      I finished it! We only get a half hour to take it. I was done in 11 minutes. then I spent 13 more trying to sumbit it and having to call the help desk nearly in tears thinking I was going to get a zero because I couldn’t submit my exam! Our teacher made it clear that if we have issues on our home computers we get zero’s. If we have issues using the school computers, all we need is a signed slip from one of the on duty librarians.

      The test count down timer was blocking the sumbit button. Nothing worked to get the thing to go away. Then the guy suggested tabbing over to it which worked! I knew there was a save and sumbit button. I guessed right that the second button was the submit so hit the tab an extra time. I hate that countdown timer!

      We get immediate results though, 100% score :). Yay!!

  2. RobFitness permalink
    March 12, 2009 8:43 AM

    Great job on the test. You can’t get any better than that. Timed tests have to be a bit stressful for the way it sounds. I hope to get my 35 pound KB next month when I can fit it in to the budget. For now I am just trying to get better in what I am doing with the clean and presses. Still not bruised, but I am hitting the KB against the arm when I do the cleans. Once you have spring break I look forward to seeing what you add to Luke’s portion. I think he is still working out something for me and hope that I can manage what he has in store. 🙂
    Your still doing quite good even with all that you have going on daily. Very impressive work.

    • March 12, 2009 8:24 PM

      I do hate those timed tests! I was nearly in tears when at first I couldnt submit it! I was worried I’d get a zero. I’m looking forward to giving you your first heart attack with my add on’s ;). hehe :).

      I’m glad the cleans are pretty clean for you. I have some new bruises from moving up a bell. They are pricey aren’t they? Josh wants a bigger one for swings but ah well, we’re broke. Sort of. All the saved money is to get me through college.

  3. ladlam permalink
    March 12, 2009 7:56 PM

    Sucks when you have a weak day doesn’t it 😦
    Good job on the test though! Lucky you didn’t reset the whole thing by accident.

    • March 12, 2009 8:30 PM

      Luke, thanks! I’m glad I didn’t accidentally reset it either when I tried to reenter the test from a different window.

      Those weak days do suck. I was feeling it. Tomorrow is “heavy” day and I’m hoping for five ladders with three rungs for all of them. Also on heavy day I do lat pulldowns instead of pull ups so that helps to decrease the rate of fatigue.

      • ladlam permalink
        March 12, 2009 10:10 PM

        5×3 sounds ambitious for a new kettlebell, good luck!
        Hopefully I’ll be back in to the kettlebelling tomorrow – I expect it to be a “weak” day for me 😀

        • March 13, 2009 1:52 PM

          Luke, I think it will go well. I did my first three ladders with three presses on easy night- but then I wasn’t cleaning before each press. I think with yesterday off to recover, I should do all right :).

Leave a Reply

