Skip to content

I Don’t Know How to Lose Weight- Part Two

March 10, 2009

Quick Fixes

You might have heard of the acia berry diet, the banana diet, the potato diet, the cabbage soup diet, the shake diet, the liquid diet… The list goes on and on and on.

What do all these “diets” have in common? Caloric restriction. They work only because they drastically restrict calories. Eventually you will start to starve and when you finally eat normal again you’ll likely gain everything back plus some. The way these diets help to decrease weight is by loosing lean body mass along with the fat. The more lean body mass you loose, the more weight you will gain once ending one of these horrible diets. Lean body mass is GOOD for you. It helps to keep you fit, healthy, and strong. Not to mention it helps burn some marginal extra calories.

These diets are only meant to rip you off. Yes, you heard (or read) me right. They just want your money. Sure some come with the “money back garauntee” but good luck actually getting money back. My husband lost a ton of weight a while back doing a herbalife diet of a shake for breakfast, shake for lunch. Weight watchers also has a shake similar to this plan. Did it work? Well of course it did! Why did it work? Extreme caloric restriction. A person cannot sustain health or live long term on a diet of this type. Eventually natural eating patterns must resume. When they do, the quick fix goes from miracle weight loss, to miracle weight gain (plus some).

All of the quick fixes fail miserably in the one thing people need to actually sustain and maintain healthy weight- education on the right foods to eat. What should you eat? Natural foods from their sources. Veggies, fruits, lean meats. Those should be what you eat most of. Cut the junk. Cut the processed foods. Skip the fast food line and head to the grocery store where you can get a decent meal usually from their deli counter. Chicken and gravy today (not a huge fan of the gravy) with some watermelon and grapes for me. Sure can’t get that at McDonalds.

Skip those quick fixes and find a reliable source to help you through eating healthy to maintain a healthy lifesytle. I recommend clean eating, paleo diet, or primal blueprint. All those have the same basis, eat foods from their source. If it’s not natural, don’t eat it. All natural breads are not natural- they are processed. Anything processed is NOT natural.

With all the mis-information out there, it’s no wonder people don’t know how to lose weight. Contact me with any questions via the comments. If I missed anything or you just don’t agree with me, comment away :).

Stop HERE for Part One.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 8:55 PM

    yes, leaving the donuts and processed foods alone can make a world of a difference!

    so maybe you can give me some feedback. i’m not trying to lose weight but want to be healthier and decided to cut out sugar… during the week. i indulge a bit on the weekend. but i was feeling my blood sugar level tank and resorted to ice cream to bring it back up. what are some healthy ways i can get my sugar intake without turning to girl scout thin mint ice cream???

    • March 10, 2009 9:19 PM

      Head for the fruit! The high glycemic index fruit is more sugary. I think oranges are near the top. Plus oranges have a ton of other health benefits. Win win :). For diabetics when they have low blood sugar, we use orange juice in the nursing and rehab facility. I’m sure the actual orange would be better though. Any other fruits are good, too. I’m fond of pineapple.

      I am hoping to get down to my “regular” weight. I’d love to weight what I did when I was 23-25ish. My high school weight would be great, but I’m thinking I’ll never see those numbers again!

  2. Riayn permalink
    March 10, 2009 11:09 PM

    I cut out all refined carbs (except for toast in the mornings) and am feeling a thousand times better. Not doing big on the weight loss though. The number on the scales is staying about the same although my waist and hips measurements are shrinking. I am on two medications that have the possible side effect of weight gain so I am thinking it might have something to do with it.

    However, my main problem is knowing if I am eating too little or too much. If I am doing either of those thing, it could be why I am not seeing the results on the scales.

    • March 11, 2009 6:30 AM

      My scale hates me too. It doesn’t matter how much or how little I eat (some days I eat double what I normally do, other days half just based on hunger levels each day). As long as my workouts are still productive I’m not too worried about counting calories but since starting cutting out most refined carbs, my weight has gone down a little. Maybe its water weight, I’m not sure. But it took nearly a week of much less carbs. But then I was eating donuts and brownies or cookies daily a bit over a week ago!

      As long as the measurements go down, don’t worry about the scale. It’ll get there :).

  3. March 11, 2009 7:01 AM

    I really like this post, Michelle. I agree with you 100%, and I think there are a couple of other things that diet books do that are a little more “dangerous.”

    For one, they put you in a position of powerlessness. When you pick up a book to get advice from it, you are saying that you don’t know what’s best for yourself. This is really horrible. People need to know the basics (what you’ve listed here) and then just listen to their bodies. Counting calories, macronutrient grams, or anything else is not listening to your body. Let your body be your book.

    The other thing these books do is guide your focus. Most of the books are focused on weight loss. And, as you mention, weight loss shouldn’t be your primary objective. There have been several studies in recent years that have shown that people who are “overweight” (and I mean in bodyfat percent, not BMI which is a bogus measure anyway) but active are much more healthy and less susceptible to cardiac and other risk factors than their “thin” but inactive counterparts.

    We all know that a professional athlete will have a BMI that puts them in the “obese” range. To boot, my grandmother, who was raised in North Carolina, and ate “southern food,” and drank and smoked through most of her life, is now 89 years old.

    What is the aim of all of this obsession in our culture? The human body is amazingly adaptable, and will find a way to get through almost anything your throw at it. I think being natural is or should be about much more than the way you eat. It should also be about how you live, where you spend your time, etc.

    Sorry for the rambling comment! It’s 7am here and I’m half awake! Anyway, keep up the good work! Don’t worry about your weight!

    • March 11, 2009 2:35 PM

      Josh, that’s just great your grandmother made it to 89! I work in geriatrics so I see many people who are 80+ every day. Many of them didn’t lead the most stellar lives in regards to food. But looking back, before the 1950’s (as the older generation was growing up) there wasn’t the availability of the fast food drive through or many of the processed items we find today. I think I will have to try much harder to live to 100 than some people I see in therapy right now because as our bodies were growing, we were eating Hardee’s, Taco Bell, and Sonic burgers.

      We are very adaptable though! It’s just amazing the amount of illness a person can actually live with as well. (Sudying pathology right now 😉 ).

      I used to go by macronutrients. I no longer do, but it was hard to break the habit of did I get enough or not enough of this one or that one. There are so many people who don’t know those basics of nutrition (and I would have counted myself along with them just a year ago). I did read some of those fad diet books, but the thing you get from all of them is that it’s just push push push. It’s not information, it’s a push toward a change that may or may not be healthy based on opinion of the author rather than facts. I’ve also seen distortions of fact in those books. They do push a specific plan or weight loss. I think they push so damn much because if they gave the information rather than the pushing, no one would stick to it and the book/diet plan would be a failure.

      Be as rambling as you like :). I don’t mind at all.

  4. run4change permalink
    March 11, 2009 7:45 AM

    You are 100% correct on this forthelife. I appreciate this post. Those fad diest (I have done all of them just about) don’t help people at all. They are deceptions and disappointer

    • March 11, 2009 2:36 PM

      Jason, thanks! I hate those fad diets more than anything! They drive me nuts. In the end people are less healthy because of these “diets”.

Leave a Reply

