Skip to content

Diet Support

March 10, 2009

I mean diet as in eating a healthy manner, not some crazed fad.

I have a hard time when giving up new foods. I spend three weeks at a time eliminating one type of food. Those three weeks for me are critical. It is very VERY hard for me to be around those foods when I shouldn’t be eating them at all. After that they go on my “I can have it as long as it’s less than 10% of the time” list. All the foods on the 10% list count as 10% so I must choose wisely from them what I am craving the most. One “cheat” is 10% in my head right now because my diet is not yet clean. When I get to clean, I’ll probably give them each a 5 point value.

Anyway, with a family, sometimes other family members decide it’s a great idea to bring home or bake things I shouldn’t eat. This is quite tough for me to maintain my resolve then. Especially when the other person offers me these treats that I shouldn’t be having. I do NOT want my healthy eating sabotaged! I want support!

The hardest thing of all for me to give up was soda. The other day there was soda in the fridge in the morning. I almost, ALMOST, took one of the two cans of soda with me in my car thinking “no one will have to know”. Instead I just brought said cans to the garage and left them there. I STILL crave soda here and there and I am not at a state where it can be easily supplied to me in my moments of weakness. Which means, I am still not ready for it to be in the house. Yet, somehow, it’s in the house.

The whole point of this post, sometimes I think I need to be more firm about what I need to be able to be successful and I need to not tolerate sabotage to my new way of life. The trouble with being firm is that I am already wavering with myself. How am I supposed to say “this is NOT acceptable” when I so desire the food or beverage they bring into the home? It takes so much resolve for me to give into my own temptations and now, having to not give into extra temptation? So not easy :(.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    March 10, 2009 6:25 PM

    It especially sucks when the person/people in question are your own family. At least if they’re at work or something like that, it’s easy enough to just not associate with someone so intent on sabotaging you. I think it probably stems from the people around you wanting to see you happy, so they offer you these tasty treats that you love thinking it will put a smile on your dial, but not realising you hold healthy heating higher than a piece of brownie…
    Anyway, keep up the hard resolve Michelle!

    • March 10, 2009 6:47 PM

      I understand the reasons to but it helps to see them written out by you :). I tend to forget that other people don’t know how hard I’m trying for this, well the people I work with do. They always bring something that I can eat at potlucks like fresh fruit or veggies. They’re quite understanding but then another girl is already ahead of me in eating clean at work. It’s home that’s hardest because I have to be around it all day. At least at work if they bring something naught in I can leave and go to one of the other two buildings I work at! Nice to have that flexibility till all the bad food is gone :).

      • RobFitness permalink
        March 11, 2009 6:11 AM

        That’s why I am so glad that I live alone, for now at least. But that’s a whole other issue. 🙂 The only person that can sabatoge me at home , is me! I help alleviate that by not buy the things that tempt me the most. That was I do much better in my eating that way. So far it’s 11 days of no soda or coffee. Oh I still desire it but I can’t give into the temptation so I just stay away from those places that may tempt me.
        The people I work with are always the ones that seem to want to ruin it all for me. I am not sure why but they are not the most supportive and always very critical. So in that department I just try to stay focused on myself and only associate with them when needed. It doesn’t create the best work environment but I have to do what’s best for me, not them.
        I am glad that you were able to not down that soda or I would have come up there and God only knows what I’d do.. except freeze to death. 🙂

        • March 11, 2009 6:28 AM

          Hehe, Yeah, it is damn COLD up here! Today isn’t too bad though and I haven’t worn a coat for the last couple days.

          It is hard when the food is here in the house. I need to be more firm and I need to have more willpower! Want to send me any?

  2. March 11, 2009 6:42 AM

    This is really tough, Michelle! Who’s buying the soda and leaving it in the fridge? Do they know you’re trying to quit?

    • March 11, 2009 2:25 PM

      Yep, it’s my hubby. My daughter isn’t old enough to bring in my taboo foods :). He knows I’m trying to quit but I think he thinks I have more willpower than what I actually have. Either that or it’s intentional and I’m trying not to think that.

Leave a Reply

