Skip to content

Last Night’s Failure

March 4, 2009

So last night was a failure. A horrible failure. I ate a brownie. I rationalized to myself that I was starting it a week early and therefore could go ahead and cheat. So I cheated. And today I’m not happy about my cheat. I also had a donut. So, double failure there.

Because of that, I didn’t have my salad for supper. So, another failure. Last night was just plain awful. And no workout, but it was variety night and variety nights are technically optional so that at least wasn’t a huge failure.

So starting fresh again today. I had my veggies already and plan to have my salad when I get home. Maybe Josh will even make my salad for me since he’s on vacation today and I’m stuck here at the college. I just finished my physics homework. Not nearly as hard as I thought it would be though the answers are a bit ambiguous. It was one of those equal to or less than type questions. Not a big fan of results that are not definitive.

I might even have a salad for lunch today at the cafeteria with some lasagna. They have cheese lasagna! They almost never have something I can eat here- usually they throw beef or pork into that stuff.

I had a chat with my instructor today. I think they think I’m nuts ;). Na, she told me I was doing well. I just had a bit of an issue in a class but I think it’s pretty much resolved. Now if I can just get an A in all my classes… I should actually take my first physics quiz today. I think I’ll do that right now for fun :). Because, as you all know, physics is phun.

I have a post for this evening all planned out. My evening post should say how well I stuck to my plan and did my workout… and ate all the things I was supposed to eat…

On a positive note, weight this AM was still 128.5. I tried on a pair of pants that used to fit well and I can barely get them up over my hips, but I CAN get them up. Barely, but they did go. I didn’t wear them today though because I didn’t want to split my pants in college. That would be a tad embarrassing.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. RobFitness permalink
    March 4, 2009 12:06 PM

    God, I I love your attitude. It’s so positive and your thinking is out of this world 🙂 Really am impressed that you didn’t let these failures get you done and out. You realized what you did wrong and you got right back on the horse to try to do better and that you did.
    Look forward to reading how well your day went with your eating and physics.
    By the way did I miss something? Did you say physics is phun 🙂 Are you feeling OK…. 🙂
    You are doing a great job in all areas of your life and you keep steeping up to the plate and hitting home runs.

  2. rethoryke permalink
    March 4, 2009 12:27 PM

    I have to say, for a great percentage of the population, 128 lbs is a perfectly fine number, and nothing to be ashamed of…. Getting fit is a worthy goal, but watching the weight numbers doesn’t have to be the only measure of success.

    wishing you well,

    R.

    • March 4, 2009 12:55 PM

      Rob, I happen to love physics! Except this class is a little… uhm… not as phun as other physics I’ve taken. As my third physics class, this is the worst of the three. Most boring… falling asleep…

      R- the number on the scale is definitely not the first measure of success or failure for me. I am trying to decrease the “bad” foods in my life so that I will live longer and live healthier. I also would like to decrease the risk I inflict on my daughter by our prior poor eating habits. The measure of success or failure for me is first whether or not my eating is healthy. I am not counting calories or anything of the like. Health is much more of a concern than actual weight. Especially since learning the damage my habits inflict on my daughter… I want her to be as healthy as possible to decrease her risks of cancer and the heart disease that runs in my family.

      Thanks for the well wishes! I hope I can stay on track with my eating much better than last night :).

  3. jleeger permalink
    March 4, 2009 7:17 PM

    Don’t sweat the small stuff Michelle. Do ten extra burpees tonight.

  4. March 5, 2009 8:44 PM

    Hi, I really enjoy your writings! It’s hard sometimes to change our habits. But I agree with you that we don’t have to like everything we eat, however we can learn to love it. I, for instant, never liked vegetables before (especially when I was a kid, just like most kids do), but learning how healthy veggies are, I can’t eat without it now. I can say that I have fallen in love with veggies, especially raw ones. I used to like cakes, however after I know what sweets will do to my body, I stayed away from them. Now I can only eat a bite or two, usually just during Christmas.

    What I was trying to say is, that changing habit is hard, but after we get used to the new and healthy one, we will begin to love and accept it.

    Keep on the good working! I think I will follow your blog as well.

    Cheers,
    Fanda
    http://myexercise-for-woman.com

    • March 6, 2009 7:54 PM

      Fanda- I finally got over to your site! I’ll definitely be back there to visit. It looks like you have a compilation of a TON of info :). Thanks for linking. I love learning more about health, exercise, and nutrition.

  5. ladlam permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:04 PM

    Why don’t you eat beef or pork Michelle?
    Brownie AND a donut? Sounds like you were living the high life 😉

    • March 10, 2009 5:29 PM

      I just can’t stand steak or pork. I find the taste revolting, particularly pork. I might at some point be able to eat beef again, but I’m thinking it’s unlikely. I see tons of boring chicken and turkey in my future!

      • ladlam permalink
        March 10, 2009 6:12 PM

        I don’t think I’d call chicken boring 😀 And turkey is good too. I don’t think I could live without a good steak or some pork though. Fair enough if you don’t like the taste though!

        • March 10, 2009 6:42 PM

          Chicken sure GETS boring! I’ve eaten chicken as my main meat for four years or more. Turkey occasionally. After four years, I’ve done just about everything with chicken and it DOES get boring! I promise! Pork in particular is awful. I couldn’t even swallow the last time I tried to eat it.

          • ladlam permalink
            March 10, 2009 6:45 PM

            Haha ok, if it were the only thing you could eat then it’d get pretty dull…
            What about fish?

            • March 10, 2009 6:49 PM

              eek, no fish! I grew up catholic and have been traumatized for life. The smell of it is revolting let alone thinking of putting it in my mouth! Chicken and turkey are really all I eat in regards to meat. But there’s tons of protein from other sources like my all time favorite- broccoli!!! Green leafy veggies aren’t bad for protien either. Not great, but not bad.

              • ladlam permalink
                March 12, 2009 4:58 PM

                Haha I’m not a huge fan of fish either. The smell really puts me off as well.
                Don’t know how you can be a fan of broccoli though, I really don’t like it at all! Spinach is good though 😀

                • March 12, 2009 8:27 PM

                  It smells to nasty to even think about eating doesn’t it?

                  Broccoli is sooo yummy! I love the florets most and even my daughter is starting to be okay with the florets. But the stalk is most nutritional… So I eat the whole thing. I love spinach only when raw or mixed into eggs or pasta.

                  • ladlam permalink
                    March 12, 2009 10:08 PM

                    Really? I didn’t realise most of the nutrition is in the stalk…. I’ll have to actually eat that part now!

Leave a Reply

