Skip to content

Crazy Workout for Crazy Woman (aka Me)

March 4, 2009

My workout wasn’t really all THAT crazy. It’s just that most people wouldn’t have done it. Here she goes:

Started out with Kettlebell Ladders for presses. These also included a corresponding pull up ladder. Five ladders, four rungs. Same for the pull ups (interspersed into the KB press workout- 1 press on left, one on right, one pull up, 2 presses on left, two on right, two pull ups…). 26lb, 12kg KB

After those ladders (about 20 min) Josh and I pulled our cards. 7 min of KB swings. I did my best, didn’t count them, but I did a ton. 16kg, 35lb KB for swings.

Then I decided I’d do five two minute rounds of boxing. I actually managed to skin a knuckle through tape and gloves! Just crazy. I was just beating the crap out of that bag. Between each two minute round I took 30-40 seconds of rest (to reset timer, get a drink, reapply glove to my hand)

Then I decided boxing wasn’t enough either. I still had some energy left. I decided, what the hell, lets do some belly dancing :). I put in a video for this one. It’s been WAY to long for me to do a routine off the cuff. I need to do these more just for some variety. To bad Josh didn’t come down to watch this one or maybe we’d have done some more dancing ;).

Then after that I decided I might be tight in my hamstrings. So, why not do a unit of yoga? So I did. Units to me are measured in 15 min intervals, so fifteen min.

So, I have no idea how many calories I burned, but I’m guessing the boxing and KB’s really wiped out some of them. I also ate my veggie for lunch (as I’ve been doing lately- works better that way) and a salad for lunch with my lasagna at school AND a salad at dinner as well.

Today is a better day. I feel wiped out in my shoulders. Partly from the KB’s partly from the boxing. My pink gloves and pink tape is just so cute!

So, that was today’s routine :).

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Riayn permalink
    March 4, 2009 9:44 PM

    Wow…. that is an insane workout. I would be exhausted after only doing half of that.
    I have just started to do some kettlebell work and I love it. There is something very satisfying about swinging something heavy over your head.

    • March 5, 2009 3:50 PM

      I love the kettlebell workouts! They are so much more fun than a normal workout. Well, anything is more fun than that :). I particularly like the KB snatches and am working on upping my weight with them. Right now I’m using my princess for the snatches (18 lb).

  2. RobFitness permalink
    March 5, 2009 8:47 AM

    Yes, You are a bit crazy 🙂 But that’s what i like about you. You’re not afraid to push yourself and when it comes to food you’re not afraid to try new things. That was one awesome workout. I am very impressed. So what gave you all this extra energy. Tell me then bottle some up and send some my way 🙂
    Great job also in getting your veggie and salad in. So how’s it going? Are you liking the salads ?
    Your doing great as always Michelle and as you know your an inspiration to many.

  3. RobFitness permalink
    March 5, 2009 10:36 AM

    Another kettlebell question. I know Luke did some clean and presses and he said he did ladders with 5 rungs. What exactly is that? Hope you don’t think it’s a stupid question. Still having a hard time understanding some of this at times. Thanks a bunch 😉

  4. RobFitness permalink
    March 5, 2009 10:39 AM

    I found that e-mail you sent me for phase two and now I see what they are all about. Sorry 😉

    • March 5, 2009 3:53 PM

      No worries Rob. If you do need any clarification on ladders and rungs, just let me know. I might still do a post on them, but Luke did as well a bit ago so I didn’t then.

      Salads are going well. I had one for lunch today with grilled chicken. Very yummy :). When I make them, they don’t have such nice chiken in them. I’m not the best cook…

      To tell the truth, I didn’t even want to work out! I was exhausted before I even started. Then I started and I just figured I’d keep going. No better motivation than already being down there doin’ it anyway :). I really just missed boxing so I picked up those gloves! Then I thought well, I hadn’t belly danced in a long time… one thing led to another as they say.

  5. jleeger permalink
    March 5, 2009 11:18 AM

    Nice workout! I think there must’ve been something in the air yesterday…here’s the workout that my training partner and I did:
    100lb Sandbag Clean to Alternate Shoulders x 6 ea.
    12 Burpees
    100lb Sandbag Carry x 30 yds.
    100lb Sandbag Clean and Throw x 6
    12 Burpees with Box Jump
    100lb Sandbag Shoulder and Lunge x 6 ea. leg
    12 Burpees
    100lb Sandbag Zercher Squat x 15
    Rest
    Pullups – AMRAP
    Dips – AMRAP
    x 3
    Rest
    15lb Medball Lateral Toss x 10
    50lb Medball “Caber Toss” x 5
    15lb Medball Situp x 12
    3 rounds

    END!

    • March 5, 2009 3:55 PM

      Josh, your workout is much more crazy than mine! As for as many as possible, I’d probably only get four in… I’m certain you did many more than four pull ups! Only one I don’t know what it is would be the caber toss. What is that? Otherwise I’ll look it up later when I write tonights post :).

  6. jleeger permalink
    March 8, 2009 10:49 PM

    Hahahha! Yeah, that was a tough one. Here’s the caber toss: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yZOeHoyNd6c

  7. ladlam permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:11 PM

    Damn, that surely was a crazy workout. Good job! I think I need a boxing bag myself 😀

Leave a Reply

