Skip to content

21 Day Goals

March 1, 2009

Salad is this 21 days. I’ve got another week to go, but you know what? I’m ready for the next step!!!

Tomorrow, rather than next Monday, I will be eliminating cookies, cakes, muffins, brownies, donuts, and the like. It will be tough but I have been eating way too much of these foods the last 14 days because I knew it was coming. I don’t think I can afford another week of overeating of these types of foods! I’m not feeling very hot… So here goes, I’m taking the plunge. Josh bought a brownie mix the other day so I’ll be eating my last brownie tonight. Then, it’s over. My love hate relationship with these food items is finally over.

Brownies, I am breaking up with you. Donuts, it’s over. Cookies, we’re done.

Wish me luck!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    March 1, 2009 6:09 PM

    Good luck! It’ll be hard, but I always find the memory of these foods is always much better than the way they actually taste. I always have this memory of brownies and cookies tasting way better than they actually do.
    Anyway, best of luck!

    • March 1, 2009 7:59 PM

      I’m about to have my last brownie. I will miss them and I’ll miss the big cookies at school. Just another thing to cry about, you guys being so young, and me not having the metabolism to eat a cookie without horrid consequences!

  2. March 1, 2009 7:17 PM

    You can do it! Are you eliminating sugar altogether?

    Being Canadian, I find that the sugary sweets in the US seem to be several times as sweet as what I’m used to – not nearly as enjoyable when I can take a bite and have my sugar intake for the day…

    http://sarahandtim.wordpress.com

    • March 1, 2009 8:01 PM

      Hi Sarah, nice to meet you :). I am eventually wiping out sugar. I have a one year plan to progress to the three degrees of clean eating. I think us here in the US certainly do tolerate high levels of sugar. I just recently quit my sugar packet habit. What part of Canada are you in? I stopped by your blog, your pictures are awesome!

  3. Tim permalink
    March 1, 2009 8:27 PM

    You aren’t taking out rice krispie treats, too, are you?

    I am just kidding… good luck…

    • March 1, 2009 10:04 PM

      Tim, I kicked those out the door five weeks ago when I stopped eating candy bars. Wasn’t sure what category they deserved but decided in the end they’re more like a candy bar than a cake or cookie. Rice krispie treat free for over five weeks :).

  4. jleeger permalink
    March 1, 2009 9:33 PM

    GOOD LUCK MICHELLE!

    Have you ever had a Deglet Noor Date? DELICIOUS! And full of antioxidants. They have replaced cookies for me.

    Well…most of the time.

    • March 1, 2009 10:05 PM

      I’m afraid of lots of food. I think that would be on my list of “I’m afraid of that”. I’ll be attempting to eat all those scary things mid to end of the year. I’m going to try pecans for the first time in my life sometime this year. And maybe walnuts, too. All sorts of scary stuff!

  5. RobFitness permalink
    March 2, 2009 11:59 AM

    Michelle, were did you get all this fear of foods from? not trying to be nosey, but very curious. Oh how I just love salads. I can eat them 3 times a day if I had to. You can add so many things to them to make them tastier, healthy and dare right good. I do wish you the best of luck on this new goal. I know you are determined enough to make it work for ya. Love my nuts as wee. Then again I don’t think there are many foods out there that I don’t like. 🙂

    • March 2, 2009 7:09 PM

      I think it’s because of how things were introduced when I was younger. Either you ate it or you sat at the table till midnight. I tell my daughter she has to eat it, but she doesn’t have to like it. I think that I didn’t feel I was allowed to not like it was a bit much for me as a kid so instead I’d just not eat it at all. There were times I was sitting in the kitchen closet because I wouldn’t eat it. My step dad thought that was fitting, for me to have to sit in a dark closet for an hour or so… I don’t know that’s where it all stemmed from, but that’s my suspicion. Soon I’ll be trying new things even if it means I have to eat them blindfolded and have Josh bring them to me so I don’t know what it is to be afraid of it. And if I don’t like them, I’m not going to force myself to eat them. I think that really will be the best way for me to try new foods, to know if I don’t like them, I don’t have to eat them.

      Fish however is a different story. I hate fish because we grew up Catholic and Friday fish fry was something we did every week until I was about 14 or 15 and my dad finally gave up on me turning Catholic.

Leave a Reply

