Skip to content

Salad A Day

February 28, 2009

So I’ve been working on the salad a day habit and have decided to inflict this upon my family. I am doing quite well with a salad a day. However since starting a salad a day I am not always getting in my one cup of veggies a day. I need to work on this jointly and find something that works for me. Part of doing what works for me is subjecting my family to a salad before dinner.

Nightly now before supper hits the table, the salad comes first. My daughter is doing wonderful with putting up with this. She is not a salad eater but ate her salad tonight without complaint. She’s really doing great and I am so proud of her for giving this a really good try. My husband, however, failed to eat a salad before dinner tonight. I was slightly saddened but not suprised. I was hoping that we could make eating healtheir a family tradition. Slowly, right. We’ll get there.

I think a salad before dinner is a great idea. Everyone should try it :). Eating healthier is good for us, and good for our kids. Don’t give your kids premature heart conditions, cancer, and diabetes just so you can have your pasta and cake.

For my salad for tomorrow that I’ll be having by my lonesome at the college I prepared some pineapple chicken. It is quite yummy. I’ll be having my chicken over my salad. Here’s the deal:
Green leaf lettuce
Spinach- raw
Carrots
some cheese
sunflower seeds
then the chicken and cooked pineapple to top the salad (pineapple tastes just the same cooked really as it does raw, now the chicken just has the added pineapple flavor)
To top off all of that, I picked up a little raspberry vinagrette dressing.

Should be yummy!

And to Karma if you read this- you did awesome with your salad tonight! I’m proud of you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. jleeger permalink
    March 1, 2009 1:33 AM

    Do you ever have salad for dinner? I love a nice Cobb Salad – bacon, avocado, blue cheese…DELICIOUS!!!

    • March 1, 2009 7:01 AM

      I do sometimes have just salad. But my family… no. I think they’d call the police on me for neglect if I tried to feed them just salad for supper :).

  2. ladlam permalink
    March 1, 2009 5:26 PM

    What do you actually eat for dinner Michelle? Why not work the salad in to the food instead, so your husband has no choice but to eat it? 😀

    • March 1, 2009 7:56 PM

      lol, I think he’d kill me in my sleep :).

      Not even I will eat spagetti infused with salad!

Leave a Reply

