Skip to content

I Am a Capitalist

February 28, 2009

There has been much talk of taxes lately and I just wanted to say, hey, I’m a capitalist. I’m for not paying any taxes at all. But since that’s not going to happen in a society as large as ours, I’m willing to pay taxes (obviously since I do still live here and all).

I would happily contribute to police and fire if I wasn’t taxed for it. But it does make sense that we’re taxed for protective services. But roads, I like fee for service. I’d pay some guy to fix my road, or at least pay a portion. But since I get taxed for it already I obviously don’t volunteer to do that.

I’m not for public health care. Maybe that makes me sound like an ass, but it is of my highly valued (hehe) opinion that if it was pay for service it wouldn’t cost nearly as much. And if I didn’t have these exorbant fee’s for my own health insurance that I’ve payed a ton for over the years, I’d be happy to donate to other people’s very high bills. There are many people who are willing to donate money if we actually were able to keep our money to donate it to the causes we feel most appropriate. Heck, I wish I could tell them where to put my tax dollars towards.

But if I’m going to be stuck paying taxes, I’d really really prefer a national sales tax system. Cheaper for sure. But then what would all those poor tax accountants do? And all those IRS employees? I can tell you what they’d do, they’d move on and find other jobs and probably be happier in their lives not having to deal with people like me bitching about my damn taxes all the time.

Please visit this site and learn more: http://www.fairtax.org/site/PageServer

One Comment leave one →
  1. jleeger permalink
    March 1, 2009 1:31 AM

    Oh in an ideal world…

Leave a Reply

