Skip to content

Time For Some Tape

February 22, 2009

Queen's Assassin

Queen's Assassin


So I’ve heard good things about taping for weight lifting. I don’t think I’ll ever use tape on my hands for using my barbell, but I suppose you never know. What I need it for is my killer kettlebell. I think I’m going to name this one the “Queens assassin”. It’s the middle bell. I don’t own the queen yet. So far the little one is named Princess Sophi. I was thinking of the dutchess for this one, but have decided to go with the queens assissin (assassin for short). Wow, do I get derailed easily after a workout! Here I was talking about tape and all of a sudden we’re naming by 26lb kettlebell the assassin.

I managed to tear open my first callus today. I didn’t even realize it while KB’ing. I was wearing my gloves which are supposed to help. Apparently they don’t. So I’m going to stop in tomorrow and see about some tape. I’m not sure if there are different kinds or what, but I just need something to not tear anymore of these open. I work in the medical field and get my hands on some nastyness nearly daily. I don’t want open wounds while wiping someone’s butt or getting my hand all full o’nastyness doing wound care. We wear gloves, but still. It just makes me a bit queasy.

So after all my long windedness, here is the actual workout-
Five ladders, three rungs of presses. Clean the bell only when changing hands. Each rung was presses AND pull ups/chin ups.

After that, Josh and I pulled our cards. I pulled a fiver… our hearts sank. Then Josh pulled an ace!!! WooHoo! So only six min of snatches today. I did drop down to the 8kg/18 lb bell for the snatches and in six minutes I did 110 of them. This was the “easy” day. We were to work at about 50-60% intensity today.

I’ll explain ladders and rungs in a later post this week. It’s on the menu :).

Tomorrow is our variety day. And do I have just the thing ;). Hehe… It’ll be a good thing Josh won’t be able to move after our workout tomorrow or he’d probably kill me after it. Poor guy, how’d he get stuck with a wife like me!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. RobFitness permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:14 AM

    I guess I haven’t worked out hard enough or long enough to get calluses. My gloves seem to be working in preventing that, for now.
    I love how you and Josh do the “card” thing. Lucking you for he had an ace up his sleeve 🙂 Good idea though. So have either one of you both pulled aces?

    Looking forward to your post on ladders and such. I think Luke explained them to me but I have this problem of forgetting a lot, especially if it means I might have to workout harder. 🙂
    Josh is lucky to have a wife like you that will continue to get him healthy and fit as ever.
    Catch you later. Need to get some breaksat of oatmeal and egg whites. Then off I go to the Lake for my ride.

    • February 23, 2009 7:29 AM

      Hi Rob, I’m here “hanging out”. My morning patient was out of the building so I came here to the college to sit on my butt a bit before class. I was just skimming through some clip art pictures for a ladder to put in my post. I’ll have to go back and find the link for the one you gave me. (I’m not at home- have it saved there). Either that or wait… I’m hoping to get the ladder post up tonight if at all possible.

      So far no snake eye’s :). We’re waiting for it! We’ve also not both had six at the same time either. I’m glad for that! Our longest so far I think was 8 min based on the cards.

      The callus doesn’t sting today. It never really hurt, just sort of stung afterward and washing my hair was a bit tough cuz I didn’t want to get soap in it.

      • RobFitness permalink
        February 23, 2009 9:31 AM

        Here’s the link if it helps.
        http://www.glitter-graphics.com

        I am off to the Lake for a bike run. Love this weather we are having. 54 gegrees already and its’ 8:30 AM 🙂
        I’ll be catching up with you later.
        Sorry got to run, I mean bike 🙂

  2. ladlam permalink
    February 23, 2009 2:34 PM

    110 snatches?! I don’t think I’m physically capable of that. Not without some serious bruising anyway. Maybe I’d break through my arm. I wonder if that’s actually possible?
    Great workout though. How are the pullups coming along? Making progress?

    • February 23, 2009 4:40 PM

      Well, it does take a mere 12 pounds of pressure to break a bone… I’m sure it’s possible, but unlikely because your muscle also suports your bone allowing for the forearm as a whole to take more pressure than just twelve pounds.

      Pull ups cming along well. Slowly but surely.

  3. ladlam permalink
    February 23, 2009 6:46 PM

    Really? Only 12 pounds? The first time I did board-breaks I was told the wood (simple pine boards) has a higher density than bone, but I didn’t realise that was all it would take to break… Just as well they’re wrapped in plenty of muscle then I guess 😀

    • February 23, 2009 6:56 PM

      Yep, without those muscles, we’d all be a bunch of broken bones :). Actually, your muscles can generate enough force to break your bones. Not common, but some people do it. Most commonly the tendon that attaches the muscle to the bone will detach first, but a break is possible if that doesnt happen. I’ve heard it’s quite painful. I hope never to experience that.

Leave a comment