Skip to content

The Bell From Hell

February 20, 2009

Tonights workout- the bell from hell.

Clean and press ladders- 5 ladders, 5 rungs. First three ladders were with the 26lb/12kg bell. Second two ladders were with the 18lb/8kg bell. Each rung also included the corresponding number of pull ups -last two ladders substituted pull downs for pull ups/chin ups. I wasn’t worried about whether I was doing chins or pulls as long as I was trying.

We don’t have dice handy- no idea where they are so Josh and I each got a card from 1-6. We both shuffled and both pulled a card. We ended up with a three and an ace. So, four minutes of swings- all out- as many as I could pump out in that amount of time. I didn’t count but I did use the 35lb/16kg bell for this one. My calluses are not pretty despite the gloves.

Now I’m sitting in my massage chair :). My low back has been bothering me these last three days fairly bad. Still able to sleep so it’s not bad enough to reallly worry about, but bad enough to interfere with my day.

I’ve been bad these past few days- this week really. I’ve been online more than I should be and I need to study just a tad more. I should have studied more for my physics exam and I didn’t. Because I thought I’d get by without studying much, I got a horrible grade.

Lastly, I don’t know why when it’s time for bed I’m wide awake and ready to go yet I’m tired half the day. I’d rather be in bed after lunch. I’d rather be in bed when I get home. Yet, 7:30ish I start waking up. That’s 7:30 pm. Then I’m all awake and don’t want to sleep. I don’t get it. What’s wrong with me… No wonder my entire family works night shift. I’m certain I’m genetically predisposed to sleeping during the day. I must be a descendant of an owl.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    February 21, 2009 4:19 AM

    Wow nice work! I’ve been wanting to get to the 5×5 ladders, but I just can’t quite get there if I want to do anything else during a session.
    How many pullups did you do between sets?
    Watch out for that lower back! You don’t want it to get worse and not be able to kettlebell at all!

    • February 21, 2009 7:44 AM

      Luke, I did one rung presses and pull up. So press once on L, then R, then pull up, then twice on L, twice on R, two pull ups, and so on.

      I only got to five ladders with five rungs because I switched to the smaller bell for my last two ladders.

      With the back, it’s chronic. I really don’t know what’s wrong with it, but usually heavy lifting doesn’t make it worse. Sometimes it feels better afterward. Though last night it did seem to pop or crack during KBing. Didn’t hurt or anything.

      • ladlam permalink
        February 22, 2009 1:54 AM

        That’s a lot of pullups by the end of the workout, I’m not surprised you had to change to pulldowns!
        I understand about the back. I have some scar tissue or something on the edge of my lumbar muscle, and it sometimes catches and causes some serious pain. Heavy lifting seems to help that, which is a bit weird…

        • February 22, 2009 9:46 AM

          I think it’s weird, too. I’d think that it’d make it worse. But then one days I decided while in a bit of pain that the pain wasn’t going to go away anyway, so I may as well do my workout. And it felt beetter. In part I think it’s because heavy lifting recruits all the accessory muscles and maybe that carry’s over to afterward. No idea… We’re just weird I guess :).

          • ladlam permalink
            February 22, 2009 4:10 PM

            Haha I guess so! Obviously the only solution is to lift heavy and often!

  2. February 21, 2009 10:08 AM

    Okay, I confess I’m a little lost on what these exercises are — particularly the ladders and rungs, but it sounds like an awesome workout. You always amaze me with what you do anyways!

  3. RobFitness permalink
    February 21, 2009 4:35 PM

    Sounds like you a the one doing the killing ther and to yourself 🙂 Take it easy girl or you really will do some damage and I’d hate to see that happen to you.
    Teresa..I too get confused when they talk ladders and rungs. Trying to learn though so I can compete with them and get ready for whatever workouts they might have in store for me in the future.
    Michelle, what you and Luke do always impresses me and one day I’ll reach your level. For now I am still really really sore just from the 10 minutes of KB swings. You must think I am a sissy boy:-)
    Have a great day though and enjoy your week-end!

    • February 21, 2009 10:03 PM

      Teresa, they are a bit hard to explain. Maybe I’ll do a post about them to explain them better to everyone tomorrow. Before KB’s, I didn’t know what they were either.

      Rob, no way! Would never think that about you. Your cardio sessions would kill me instantaniously! I still get sore from KB swings. Keep uo the great work!

      • RobFitness permalink
        February 22, 2009 8:48 AM

        Thanks Michelle that made my day. I do seem to whine a lot about my soreness though. 🙂 Hope you’re taking a bit of a break yourself. Everyone needs to.

  4. ladlam permalink
    February 22, 2009 2:00 AM

    Rob buddy what you do is no less grueling than our kettlebell workouts, it’s just geared to a different side of fitness!
    You want to do a triathlon, so you train endurance cardio, I (and Michelle I think) are training for strength so we do grinding weight programs instead!

    • RobFitness permalink
      February 22, 2009 8:46 AM

      Luke.. I want it all though. I want the endurance, I want the strength, I want the body of an 18 year old. OK, I got a little bit carried away about the last”want”. 🙂 I guess you can’t have it all but you can try though. I really do want the strength as well, but I guess it is a bit hard doing both. It is possible though, right?

  5. February 22, 2009 9:52 AM

    Yep, I’m going for strenth as my main focus. Weight loss as a smaller part of that. Rob, you likely are building strength while doing your endurance programs. The only thing you cant do at the same time is gain muscle mass (which is different from strength to a degree) and loose weight. Strength you can gain, but no mass. Strange, I know, but trust me :). To do both, what I would do is train strength first in small set and rep ranges. Three sets of five or so for a couple compount movements maybe three times a week before your cardio. The other days just do your cardio or do endurance lifting.

    So, yes, possible. Luke and I are also doing endurance by default with the swings. It’s impossible to do 200 swings and not be working endurance! All programs are a mix of a couple things. Most people building muscle mass will be building strength. Most people doing endurance with weight training will be building strength, just at a slower pace.

    Heavy lifting for your legs, like sqats, can also help with your running speed and endurance. With bad knees, doing sit to stands from a chair might be plausable holding onto dumbells rather than the typical form of a squat. It’s what I have Josh doing- he has bad knees.

    • RobFitness permalink
      February 22, 2009 3:04 PM

      Wow, that was a mouthful Michelle. and I think I understand and get your point as well. As I recall my previous trainer told me the same thing. I guess it’s something that I didn’t want to hear though. I can be so stubborn at times 🙂
      I guess I should be happy with what I am doing because no matter what I am getting fit, stronger and healthier. I really don’t want to gain mass, because I do understand that concept you mentioned and I do trust you.
      I am also thankful that my knees are holding up and getting better. I don’t have a lot of pain anymore and seem to be able to do more as well. One thing though is that I don’t want to push it, especially with the tri coming up in April.
      Thanks for everything… You awesome as well…

  6. jleeger permalink
    February 22, 2009 11:45 AM

    Hi Michelle,

    Great blog! Thanks for the comment on my post the other day. I’ve been reading all of your entries. Keep up the good work! I’m going to list you on my “blogroll” if that’s ok with you.

    Josh

Leave a Reply

