Skip to content

What Makes You Happy

February 15, 2009

On WPR the other day there was a show on about a research survey. The participants were asked to think of either an object or an event that they purchased in the last three months and then were asked a bunch of questions about this purchase.

The researchers were able to discover that items, a short time later, didn’t still have the effect of the happiness of the initial purchase. However the trips, concerts, and other events purchased increased the level of happiness of the participants even three months later. They were still happy about the money they spent and had less regret than the item purchasers over how much it cost or satisfaction with their purchase.

So, here I go in my own survey…

Thing I purchased in the last three months that made be very happy:

I bought my kettlebells within the last three months. On a scale of 1-10 of initial joy in purchasing I’d say a 6. I hate spending money. Total joy of having the kettlebells, even now, 10 out of 10. I am very happy with them and completely and thoroughly enjoy them. No regrets about spending the money now that I have them. Part of my enjoyment I think is that I bought something I could spend time using. I’m also happy that it’s something my husband is willing to do with me since we don’t do much together. Our interests are quite different.

Event purchased in last three months:
Trip to the museum with my dad. I am still happy about that as well. I love to spend time with my dad and I enjoyed watching the Apostle Clock. I would love to go back there again with my dad and hopefully my daughter. Initial pain in parting with my money- very little because museums here are not pricey. Joy now 10 for 10 again. Regrets on spending? None.

My dad also purchased a trip to the Planetarium for my daughter and I to go with him about a week later. That was wonderful as well. I enjoyed that and even learned a bit ;).

In the last three months I don’t think I’ve purcased a non-one time use item that doesn’t involve using it frequently. Like a toilet brush- you use it all the time (at least I do) so it’s not a regret in purchasing a new one. We bought a massage chair that I’m in love with. It was a painfully expensive purchase but I use it constantly. In fact, I’m sitting in it right now. I haven’t purchased any jewelry or other items recently that I could regret. I really do hate spending money so if I’m not going to use it frequently, I don’t buy it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    February 15, 2009 8:23 PM

    Dude, I want a massage chair! Seriously!
    Sorry, that’s all I have to offer, I’m too caffeine-deprived to think of any purchases myself…

    • February 15, 2009 8:51 PM

      Luke, add in more water! It’ll make the lack of caffine sting just a little less. Trust me, no headaches when I quit for the last time with drinking a ton of water. usually before I was thirsty even, I’d just down water every four hours or less. Worked well :). Now I’m a bit more calm with the water :).

      And I LOVE my chair!!!

  2. ladlam permalink
    February 15, 2009 10:31 PM

    Haha not to worry, I drink a ton of water anyway. Any more and I’ll spend more time in the gents than at my desk! I do feel a bit of relief when I drink heaps of water though.

  3. judie611 permalink
    February 20, 2009 3:07 PM

    Very interesting, thank you for sharing! The sad thing is that I can barely remember what I have purchased recently. I have not been in shopping mode at all. But, overall, that makes perfect sense.

    http://www.judiesjuice.wordpress.com

    • February 20, 2009 3:38 PM

      I don’t shop much either, unless it’s groceries and those definitely don’t make me happpy!

  4. jleeger permalink
    February 22, 2009 12:25 PM

    Things I’m glad I spent money on (8-10 out of 10):
    Any piece of exercise equipment (although, I don’t buy anything advertised on tv…).
    Just about every book I’ve ever purchased
    Food
    My Vibram FiveFingers
    Having fun…movies, eating out, gifts, having fun with my girlfriend…

    Things I’ve spent money on that bug me (4-7 out of 10):
    Anything to do with my car. I love it, but it’s something I wish I didn’t need.
    Medical bills. I’m not sick or injured, but “insurance” is just a rip-off. Health care in this country needs a serious overhaul
    Cell phone. Another thing I can’t get rid of, but I really really wish I could.

    Things I wish I’d never spent money on:
    Bad dinners at “good” restaurants

    That’s about it…hahaha.

Leave a Reply

