Skip to content

Next Week is an Off Week

February 11, 2009

I wont deny that I am loving my kettlebell. It has been an awesome addition to my routine. However, next week is my scheduled off week for recovery of tendons, ligaments, and well, my brain. My brain is a big mess of goo right now.

I’m not sure what I’ll do next week during my usual 7pm workout time. I might sit and cry because I love it so much. I’d like to do some boxing during my off week but that is a pretty shoulder intense workout as well so I’m going to have to pass. It is getting warmer around here so maybe I’ll try running if the weather holds out. It was a warm 55 degrees yesterday. And running certainly doesn’t work the shoulders like crazy.

In my future as an ultrasonographer, one of the big injuries common in the feild is rotator cuff tears from overuse injuries. Kettlebelling will definitely prepare my shoulders for the demands of my future job. No injuries for me, thanks anyway ;).

About injuries, I no longer have kettlebell kisses on my forearms. I am, finally, doing the snatch properly. I can kettlebell snatch!!! And I demo’d that today in class ;). Hehe, I love my Princess _____. (little bell). I might even run outside right now and do a quick workout.

By the way, I did add gloves. I have calluses from prior weight lifting and they were really getting aggrivated by the bell. Even with the pumice stone in the shower…

Have a great day, and I’m going to do some studying now! Exam on Monday :(. And work on Sunday so Sunday wont be a great study day for me.

Sorry about forgetting to post last night! I didn’t die, promise ;).

10 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    February 11, 2009 3:24 PM

    Ahhh got to love a rest week. My problem is always remembering to start back again afterwards 😉
    That’s awesome that you can do snatches properly now! What did you have to change to get them right?

  2. robfitness permalink
    February 11, 2009 4:20 PM

    We are suppose to have a rest week??? How come nobody ever released that bit of important information to me! 🙂 How’s that e-mail coming along that you said you’ll send me? I know you’re busy and all so take your time. my friend. Hope you do enjoy your rest week and that you don’t go to stir crazy. 🙂

  3. ladlam permalink
    February 11, 2009 7:09 PM

    Rob a weeks rest is good from time to time because it allows your tendons and nervous system time to recover, which takes longer than it does for muscles!
    If you’re looking for stuff to do check out this great video that lays out the technique for a KB Swing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q0jalJ-3e7U&feature=channel_page

  4. February 11, 2009 9:20 PM

    Rob, I FINALLY got part of it to you ;). I’ll get the second part of it to you as soon as I can. And then of course wait for the third installment ;).

    Luke, to get them right I watched a few utube vids. I am a person who can see it then do it for the most part. All it took was seeing it. From the book I was pulling back for the high pull and then “punching” up but I was pulling way too much.

    I watched a movie here on my couch tonight! It was great. And that’s when I worked on that email finally, took me nearly the whole movie because it was actually quite good. My friend recommended it. Well, time for bed now :). I’ll miss posting again tonight becuase I need to get to sleep!

  5. robfitness permalink
    February 12, 2009 8:14 AM

    Who said you need sleep?:-) Thanks for the e-mail I did get it and I’ll be reading it over more. I too am more of a video person. What works for me is I do read about it and then once I see a video relating to it, it finally clicks. Thanks for that link, Luke. It did help out as well. What my problem is, is that I am impatient and want to learn it all and do it all NOW! I guess I better tone it down a bit or or injure myself and be sore to even do my weight training.

    I do appreciate both of your help in this and especially thanks for giving me the motivation, knowledge and interest in trying something different. I love it 🙂

  6. February 12, 2009 4:01 PM

    Hehe, I am a big fan of sleep :). I’m pretty sure my notebook is in with my school stuff somewhere. I will find it! In Enter the Kettlebell it says to practice the swings and get ups a few minutes here and there the week or two before you start your KB program as well. I don’t think I mentioned that, so you SHOULD take it slow! Don’t injure yourself!

  7. February 12, 2009 4:03 PM

    Oh, crap, and remember if the ball starts flying off on you, do NOT try to catch it, just try to guide it from not hurting you. If it’s flying away from you, let it fly rather than hurting yourself to regain control. You can always pick it up again right away if it hits the ground. If you hit the ground, you might not be able to pick it up again for six weeks while you recover.

  8. ladlam permalink
    February 12, 2009 5:07 PM

    I got a reminder of that last night – slammed the bell down a bit too hard after a snatch, and then caught it at the bottom. It yanked my back a bit too hard, so it’s a little tender today. No massive damage done though!

    • February 13, 2009 11:53 AM

      Be careful there Luke! Watch it for a day or two and if it starts to bother more, just back down for a couple days. Or take a week off with me ;). hehe. I don’t know what I’ll do. It’s getting cold again here so I probably can’t run :(. By cold, I mean it’s back under 40 degrees from a few warm days in the 50’s. I could handle 50’s for half the year and 80’s for the other half. How’s things down there with the fires? Getting any better?

  9. ladlam permalink
    February 13, 2009 4:34 PM

    Took a rest yesterday, the back’s feeling much better today but I think I might give the bell a miss today as well, it’s still a bit tender.
    40 degrees is coooold! Believe it or not, it’s been 60 degrees most of the week! Bit of a change from the 110 last week…
    Grab a skipping rope and do some fancy skipping 😀

Leave a Reply

