Skip to content

The Number on the Scale

February 7, 2009

bathroom-scale

We’re told by people that the number on the scale is just a number. Don’t worry about the number. Worry about bodyfat percent, BMI, or measurements instead.

Well I don’t care what they tell me, I still think about that number on the scale. Now I know it’s not the most important number in the world and I’m certainly not going to starve myself to get to the number I think is perfect, but I still want to hit a particular number. I do think about that number and wonder if I’ll ever have the willpower to get there again. Yes, I struggle with willpower. Especially when being stared down by chips and cookies. They beat me repeatedly.

My current number is to just stay below 130. I’ve struggled with 130 for years now. It’s not my happy number. I think if my bodyfat were lower I’d be happier around that number, but lets face it, my bodyfat percent is not great. Less than a year ago I was a happy 122 lbs. As of this morning I am below 130 again after three weeks of being above, again.

Some people will do anything to hit a number on a scale. Others, like many of my co-bloggers out here with links on the right, are being smart about it. The number is important to me, but I’m not going to do crazy things to get to that number. I will not starve myself (as is evident by my cookies and cake binges). I’m not going to take fat loss supplements or shakes that give you the shakes, runs, and heart palpitations. I will not throw my food up, that’s just to darn gross and besides I don’t have a very great gag reflex. I’d probably have to shove my fist down my throat. And I’m not that crazy.

I do get frustrated sometimes that the journey to my “perfect number” is so slow. I know why it’s slow- my eating isn’t spot on and I could do more exercise. I am fixing it though, one step at a time. No more candybars, candy, or gumdrops etc. In about 4 more weeks, no more cakes, cookies, or donuts either. I’ll get there to my goal. Maybe more slowly than I’d like, but when I get there it wont be like last time. This time, I’ll have learned lifelong habits to help me stay on track and stop this yo-yoing for good.

Yes, it’s just a number on the scale, but I think we all think about it.

This WILL BE the last time I lose these same ten pounds.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rikki King permalink
    February 17, 2009 10:48 PM

    we’re in the same range! i’m glad i’m not the only person who might yo-yo between 120 and 130 a couple times a year. july:130 nov: 120 feb: 127

  2. February 18, 2009 4:28 PM

    I’m just glad I stopped yo-yoing between 130 and 140! It’s been a battle because I love brownies, cookies, donuts… You know, all the things that don’t work well with getting along with the scale ;).

Leave a Reply

