Skip to content

What About the Rest of Your Day?

January 31, 2009

This post is inspired by a great blogger Chris.

Chris was discussing in his post a day or so ago about athletes and their training in the gym. Then what happens outside the gym-the rest of their day to perform bad habits and the risk of injury and such that can impact their performance. Well, I might not be a professional athlete but I should treat my body as if it were. I’m inspired by Chris’ post even though I’m not an athlete. I don’t think he was intending that. Or maybe he was ;). He states it’s the 23-1 rule. I suggest you check out his blog if you haven’t already :).

I have a bad habit of poor eating. I really haven’t gained weight with these habits recently. And I did loose quite a bit a while back with quite poor eating habits. But just because I can loose weight and eat crap doesn’t mean I should. My body deserves better than that. A few months back I started working toward clean eating because my body deserves good fuel for the rest of it’s day. Not only does my body deserve good fuel, I deserve to have my workout count for more than an excuse to continue eating crap.

Another thing that really hits home in his post is about the rest of the day having bad habits such as sitting all day. Unfortunately I can’t really get around this right now with lectures, labs, and studying. Unfortunately, a good portion of my day is spent on my butt. I have a timer next to me right now for when I’m studying and every 15 minutes I do another ten push ups. So at least I’m getting something in, but it doesn’t seem enough. Unfortunately again, I don’t have time to add in more during my studying but do have my four time weekly kettlebell routine. I’m failing quite miserably on my ten minutes in the morning. I should do better to stay on track.

My workout might be great, but that doesn’t mean the rest of my day can be lazy and filled with bad choices.

Today- no workout but frequent push ups. No veggie- very not good. No ten minutes in the morning. No cleaning up the holiday items. No taping in my daughters room. Very bad day for goals today. Excuses- babysitting my neice and nephew (though my daughter did keep them all pretty occupied). A friend came over that I haven’t seen in ages and brought her six month old baby over. He is so cute! She wouldn’t let me keep him though :(. Then dropped of sisters kids at her place and saw her new place. She was moving which was why I stole her kids. Her new apartment is AWESOME! Even comes equipped with a gas fireplace. I stayed at her new place for too long and got a tad behind on my studying. But so far now an hour and a half late for bed but partly caught up. I should be able to get it in tomorrow for the most part but I will be in the lab scanning for a couple hours. So who knows. I might end up behind yet again :(.

Off to bed! See you tomorrow.
And please, if anyone has any ideas of what I can do WHILE studying, let me know. Ankle circles are not cutting it but I need to be able to read and write while performing any activity. I’m going nuts here! And even in class, anything I can do that won’t get me looked at like a crazy person?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    February 1, 2009 1:04 AM

    Thanks for the link to Chris’ blog Michelle, looks like a great read!
    Although there’s nothing wrong with treating your body like you’re an athlete, I think you can go a bit too far sometimes. Sometimes there’s just nothing you can do about it, like having to sit around all day. Some people are blessed with having an active job, some of us have to sit in front of a computer all day.
    Having said that, apparently a fit-ball is awesome if you have to sit around!

  2. Chris Brown permalink
    February 1, 2009 9:46 AM

    Thanks for the kind words!!

    In the last paragraph you wrote: “And even in class, anything I can do that won’t get me looked at like a crazy person?”

    My answer is fidget. You dont need to do anything extreme or attention-getting, just adjust your position. I may actually expand on this is a follow-up post with more examples.

    Sitting isn’t inherently bad, its when ppl sit for extended periods of time without changing their posture that tissue length-tension changes happen.

    Like I posted in the response on my own blog, you’re already doing a lot of good things to not let those things happen — give yourself a pat on the back 🙂

  3. robfitness permalink
    February 1, 2009 11:39 AM

    With all that you have going on it amazes me that you even have time to breathe. 🙂 You are a super wonder women with a lot more stamina that I have. You are doing some awesome things and I am proud of you for all that you are doing in all aspects of your life. it is so well balanced.
    I think that I have decided to not use any energy drinks to help me out. I’ll have to work with what i have and hopefully once I continue my workouts I’ll get the energy from that.

    • February 2, 2009 7:46 PM

      Luke, I used to use one of those for my desk at home. Now I have a laptop and sit in positions that are probably not very good for my back pain. I should get into the habit of sitting in a chair when I type not on my couch.

      Thanks for the comment here Chris! I swear in class they must think I have hemorrhoids because I’m wiggling the entire class. It’s because of back pain though- sit in one spot to long and I have pain. I do hope you do a follow up post on your blog! Any and all idea’s are helpful. At least at home if I do something funky no one will laugh at me or think me crazy.

      Rob, I think you made the right choice with the energy drink for the time being. But do check out mamawantsasixpack and find out what she uses for her long runs. It might be worth a shot. I just know I couldn’t use them because I think there some sort of yogurt/pudding consistency and I can’t tolerate that feeling on my toung. Weird, I know, but then I’d have had 8 weird things instead of seven!

Leave a Reply

