Skip to content

Do You Ever Feel Like A Chicken With it’s Head Cut Off???

January 30, 2009

head-cut-off
I was asked this yesterday at work. I’m sure we’re all asked this at some point.

But my answer might suprise you. It’s no. I don’t feel like a chicken with it’s head cut off. You might notice I have a very hectic schedule. With two hours of free time last week… yeah, hectic. But I think of a dead chicken as running blind. I’m never doing something without knowing why, how long it should take, and what is coming next. The day is planned. Very planned. Though there are days that things go wrong and not everything on my plan gets done, the things that are priority get done. Like my workout… at 10pm if need be. Also, with running blindly, I think of someone who looks very busy but never gets anything done. That is definitely not me. I accomplish a hell of a lot in any given day.

So, if you’re running constantly and not getting anything done, you might want to look at your plan. Start some basic routines of things that get done every morning, every evening, upon returning home from work… and some days a person might have different routines. Two morning routines- one for days without a run, one for days with a run. These are the basics, things that have to get done every day. The rest, if crap happens, can be altered. There will be days where I am unable to do homework (like today- hubby’s party for work is tonight). But, I got in my workout. That is priority. Even over homework, I need to stay fit to have the energy to continue the pace I am going for the next 14 weeks. Exercise DOES give you energy. Even though I have a ton to do every day, I would not say I look like a person running wildly to accomplish everything. It gets done when it gets done. Priority items are scheduled first in my evenings so if it takes longer than allotted, the things with less priority are just bumped off the schedule. That might mean my toilets get cleaned only once every other week rather than weekly, but hey, at least they get cleaned.

A girl at work said I was very organized after I was saying one of my goals for this year was to be more organized. Our views of things differ. My view of having a daily plan is not organization- it’s necessity. Now, getting my desk organized… that’s work!

Really, this post is about knowing what your days is going to bring. And rolling with it when things go wrong or off plan.

As for today:
My 11 am pt refused so I took a two hour lunch. During my lunch I went to McD’s for a chicken sandwich then drove home. I got in ten minutes of alternating push ups, face the wall squats with the 35lb bell, and halo’s with the 26. The next ten minutes I did practice of cleans, presses, and high pulls. I can’t press the 26 yet :(, so I pressed the 18 which seems easy. I need a mid-bell! I alternated the practice with the 18 and 26. I might be ready to practice snatches next Monday. Then I did another ten minutes of swings. I alternated the 35 and 26lb bells. At one point I did loose the 26 lb bell. The 35 had been in my car and there was some condensation forming on the handle as it warmed in my basement. So after I put that one down and started swinging the 26, it went a bit wild. I damaged two tiles after the bell bounced off the wall, but I am uninjuried :).

I can’t wait to see what Rob has in store for Luke!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    January 30, 2009 7:42 PM

    Great post Michelle! Personally I can’t stand to be that well organised, I much prefer to juts go with the flow – but I’m sure a time will come where I need to be that organised.
    With pressing the 26lbs bell, just keep practicing those swings to build the shoulder strength! In time the press will come.

  2. robfitness permalink
    January 31, 2009 11:16 AM

    You are one organized and crazy girl.:-) I like a bit of organization but my problem is that when things don’t goes as planned than all hell breaks loose. So now I try not to be as rigid and that’s been working for me. I can see why you have to be as organized though, you really do have a lot going on. I am proud of all that you are doing and for sticking with it, even though it does get hectic.
    Like I have said many times you need to find time to rest. A bit of a break from working out might do you a lot of good, physically and mentally.
    Your doing goo though so keep it up and have some more coffee. 🙂

    • January 31, 2009 11:21 AM

      Luke, I really am not this organized when life isn’t crazy! But I do always know what I’m doing in a day :).

      Rob, definitely do what works! No breaks from the workouts for me yet. I have never tried coffee. I’m afraid of it. I should have put that in my post seven weird things! I am afraid of coffee… always have been. No idea why.

      I am in need of a break from studying so I stopped in here. Back to studying and on my next break I’ll pop in to visit you guys :).

  3. ladlam permalink
    January 31, 2009 4:16 PM

    Michelle coffee speeds up muscle recovery! I drink heaps of it! Althought that’s because I’m always tired, the recovery thing is just a bonus 😀

    • January 31, 2009 7:38 PM

      I have never heard that Luke! I’m still afraid of it :). Besides, the smell of fresh ground beans gives me migranes. And the smell of brewing coffee gives me migranes. No soda anymore either. Pretty much caffine free here. No more chocolate either… I’m living a deprived life!

      Taking yet another break right now. I was babysitting all day so I’m WAY behind on my studying for today. So, here I go, more studying…

  4. ladlam permalink
    January 31, 2009 8:37 PM

    Yeah it was news to me too, just another excuse to drink lots of it 😀 I think I remember you saying before that the smell gives you headaches – better to steer clear of it then!
    Working, studying, keeping fit AND babysitting?! No thanks 😀

  5. January 31, 2009 9:53 PM

    hehe, yeah busy day. But now time for bed. At last! Only to get up at 5:30 am (6.5 hours from now) to go to work. At least it’s only a six hour day with two hours of drive time.

  6. February 2, 2009 10:25 PM

    Someone once said, “There is no need to slow down, just calm down.” Things don’t always go according to plan, but like you said, roll with it!

  7. February 3, 2009 3:31 PM

    Definitely just go with it. Doesn’t pay to get all frustrated because then things take even longer to get done. I love that quote :).

Leave a Reply

