Skip to content

Give It a Try, You’ll Like It.

January 23, 2009

You might not believe me, but I don’t know anyone who’s tried kettlebells and NOT liked them. I am just so infatuated with my kettlebell. Today we did the Turkish Get Ups for five minutes. I could only do the 26 lb kettlebell twice on each arm before having to bump down to the 18 lb bell for the rest of them. We also did wall squats, pumps, and halo’s for ten minutes before the get ups. It was much fun.

You know, you don’t really need a kettlebell to try them to start with. A person could swing dumbbells if they had to (which I might have to next week). If I swing dumbbells, I plan to swing a pair of them. I’ll aim for two 17.5’s (adjustable weights borrowed from a friend that go to 20 lbs each). That’ll get me to 35 which is just about the weight of the next bell. I saw on ebay they are selling 35 lb bells for about 48 dollars. Then anywhere from 14 to 45 dollars to ship it. I could potentially get a 35 lb bell for 62 dollars. OR I could buy one new for 70 and get it right away, but then it’s in the lb system vs the kg system. I kind of like the kg system for progression because that’s the way it started. I like tradition.

So, if anyone knows where I can get a 35 right now and cheap, let me know. I’ll be checking out Play it Again Sports in Appleton hopefully Sunday or I’ll have hubby stop by there Monday on his way home from work.

As for my day today- I’m about to have more corn. Yes I am living off corn, carrots, broccoli, potatoes, and… I guess that’s it. I have another 21 day goal to eat a variety of veggies but it is a way off. I got to work at 7 this morning and worked till 7 tonight. Long day, but I did take an hour for lunch with a co-worker to go to a pizza place. Had to get in some gossip. You know that new pres is kind of cute even if he does have scrawny legs… I’ve always liked older guys. But I’m married and I’m not one to cheat. Just not possible for me. Not even when I’m dreaming. Yes, I tell people in my dreams these words “I’m sorry, I can’t. I’m married”. Yeah, who does that when they’re dreaming! I do I guess. I’d call that dedication to my marriage. Carrots again for my veggie. And I missed my ten minute torture again. I have not been doing well with that. I will do better! I just am not a morning person. I typically get up fifteen minutes before I have to leave the house for work.

So a twelve hour work day, getting ready for work, driving home. Doing kettlebells (though total that was maybe 25 min) and now I can sit here and type to the world. Except only four people read my blog so hey, I’ll blog to you guys :). I am exhausted today. I really am. I can’t wait to shower, sit in my massage chair, and go to bed. Especially since my work day for Saturday starts at 6:30 am. Even earlier than today. Oh well. Life goes on.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 9:21 PM

    I am going to have to figure out how to use these kettleballs because you have really peaked my curiosity. I might just have to rush out and buy one! And I feel privileged to be one of the special four! Have a great night Michelle!

  2. ladlam permalink
    January 24, 2009 12:58 AM

    Michelle I’m trying really hard to get all my family and friends on to kettlebells 😀 I’ve convinced one person so far, but he absolutely loves his kettlebell. He’s named it Yusef 😀
    I started off in the gym using a dumbell for swings, but my technique was all wrong. I was using my arms way mostly, until Pavel taught me better!

Leave a Reply

