Skip to content

Breaking News: Kettlebell Causes Exhaustion

January 19, 2009

death-by-kettlebell1

Yes, I drew that myself in paint. Sorry it sucks ;).

Now for the feature article:

Here’s the fact’s. Michelle (me, yes I’m talking in third person, so like it) is a very competitive person. She just really hates to be beaten. It’s a horrible trait that has caused numerous pains and agonies yet also many triumphs and victories over the years.

Recently Michelle was beaten ruthlessly by Luke in Kettlebell Swings. Luke used a 44 lb kettlebell and did 220 swings in 12 minutes. The 44 lb is listed by Pavel as for a stronger than average male.

Michelle, being a chicka, is using a 26 lb kettlebell- Pavel states the 26 is for a strong lady. There is no stronger than average lady, it’s just average and strong. Men get three- 35 lbs as average, 44 lbs stronger than average, and 53 for very strong.

Not to be outdone, but using a smaller kettlebell, Michelle managed to not fall on her face as she completed 222, yes, that’s right, two more swings than Luke ;), in ten minutes. The last two minutes were hand to hand swings- maybe a total of thirty.

Michelle declares herself kettlebell winner! That is till Luke challenges me to equal weight ;).

Find Luke here: http://ladlam.wordpress.com

Story by Michelle

So, yeah, I’m exhausted. Totally and completely. Next week I will be moving up to the 35 lb kettlebell. Luke, I’ll catch up to you if it’s the last thing I do! (And likely will be the last thing I do as I pass out with a kettlebell falling toward my head).

Veggies today- carrots. Push up challenge today- total 64 push ups but not consecutive. On my fifth set I did manage to pump out 17 push ups. Pretty darn good for a girl who could do only four on her first set a mere three weeks ago. I didn’t do them this morning-I got up late :(. Instead I did them about an hour before my death defying kettlebell routine. I’m sure I could have done 250 swings if it wasn’t for doing those push ups before hand. Yeah, that’s my excuse ;). I’m working on my holiday stuff now that my desk area is clean but I didn’t do my fifteen minutes there yet. I’ll be doing that after my shower. Yes, I’m sitting here sweaty so get used to it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    January 20, 2009 3:00 PM

    Noooo! I think you are trying to kill me Michelle.
    I think it’d be fair to say you did 252 swings in 12 minutes, unless you had a half hour break in between the 10 and final 2 minutes 😛
    Well, I guess there’s nothing for me to do other than do 254 swings tonight. I guess I’ll see you in the afterlife 😀

  2. judie611 permalink
    January 20, 2009 4:06 PM

    Michelle, you’re doing great! Good for you! I am still interested in trying kettlebells but have been focused on The Bar Method for the time being. I love reading about your experiences! http://www.judiesjuice.wordpress.com

  3. January 20, 2009 6:32 PM

    Luke, I think the test goes ten minutes so I’m sticking with the ten ;). Besides those last- maybe thirty- were hand to hand…

    Please though, don’t beat me. Cuz then I’ll have to beat you next time (Thursday is next swing day).

    Judie, I am really enjoying the kettlebells. I cant wait to add onto my routine with practice for the next routine next week! I have been seeing The Bar everywhere since reading your blog. I’d not seen it before that, now it’s everywhere!

  4. January 20, 2009 6:45 PM

    Cracking up here! You go girl! Sweet, sweet victory! Enjoy it while it lasts. Great job on the awesome workout.

    • January 20, 2009 7:27 PM

      Hehe, yeah, I was pretty excited. As I was doing my last set of swings to hit my ten minutes, I was saying to my husband “I have to beat Luke”.

  5. ladlam permalink
    January 20, 2009 7:35 PM

    By the test do you mean the RKC test?
    Haha I honestly don’t know if I CAN beat you. It gives me something to aim for to keep working hard though. If I do beat you I can always lie and say I didn’t? 😉

  6. January 20, 2009 7:51 PM

    lol, na, honesty is the best policy. Yeah, RKC, technically the snatch test, but hey… swings/ snatches… what’s the difference when it’s a competition ;). hehe. I’m just going by the general guide of if I can do 200 swings in ten minutes, I should up my weight. I might have to decrease my KB for snatches though, but I’ll get to that when I get to it :).

  7. ladlam permalink
    January 20, 2009 8:04 PM

    I don’t think there’s anywhere to actually do the RKC here in Australia, plus I’m too busy (and poor) with other athletic pursuits to bother trying, so I haven’t really read that far in to ETKB just yet 😛
    Snatches are good fun, and less demanding than swings I reckon, mostly because you don’t generally do them non-stop for 12 minutes! I’d say if you can pull off 200 swings, you should be almost able to snatch the same bell!

Leave a Reply

