Skip to content

Body Lift- Pacific Fitness Corp.

January 18, 2009

Today’s peice of equipment is from a company that is long gone. This machine is probably ancient. But, like anything ancient, it holds up well.

The Body Lift is a cable machine basically that uses multiples of body weight. If I got to 15 and could lift up myself, I’m sure I could add a plate to the base of the machine to increase total resistance. There is really no limit to the amount of resistance because weight can be added, but the weight added does not mean that there is an exact change of resistance to equal the weight. You might add 5 lbs but resistance might increase by 15 lbs. Or you might at 100 lbs and resistance might only increase by 20 lbs depending on what setting it’s on. Unfortunately I got this machine very very used and no manual was included. I don’t know what the numbers mean by percent of weight.

Excercises that you can do: Lat pull downs, wide grip, narrow grip, underhand/overhand/mixed grip.
Abdominal curls, seated rows, chest press with two different grips, horizontal or vertical, upright rows, abdominal twists, leg extension.
Above is really quite a narrow list. Anything you can do in a gym with a cable, you can do with this machine.

There are three different cable stations, high, chest height, and low. All the grips can be changed, the lat pull down bar can be put on any three places, the row bar, same deal. Any type of bar or grip attachment can be used in any three areas.

Only negative- you don’t know the exact amount of resistance.

Here’s the pics of this machine!

I wasn’t home at all yesterday really except a few minutes before heading out with my dad and same today. Just had about 45 min before leaving again for lunch with my BFF. If I can, I’ll catch up tonight with everyone and reply to comments here! Thanks for visiting :).

PS- doing good with my goals :). I’ve got to get my push ups in today but I was wating a bit to see if my back pain goes down so hopefully I can do them all.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    January 18, 2009 2:25 PM

    My folks have a machine very similar to this one, although yours is in much better condition…
    I didn’t use it too much while I was living with them though, I tend to prefer free-weights these days. Definitely heaps you can do with this thing though!

  2. January 18, 2009 6:17 PM

    I prefer free weights too. I use this one for things it’s hard to do free weights with. For the chest press, I’d always do a bench press instead. I hate forced movement patterns. And I’ll never use the leg extension on this (or on my regular bench). They have machines that use cables that you can just put free weights on but this works the same way except it’s unmeasureable. For some of the ab things I like it, also for pull downs and seated rows. I do upright rows with free weights so don’t use it for that. But, yeah, lots of uses and definitely in great condition. Only thing wrong is some stickers peeling and a bit o’ dust :).

  3. May 28, 2010 1:44 PM

    forthelifeofme.wordpress.com’s done it once more! Incredible writing.

  4. Lorinda S Hillard permalink
    March 5, 2012 11:35 AM

    I’ve been looking for this set up for three months. I got it at a goodwill store, paid for it, loaded it up in the car, brought it home,…. no manual to put it together. Can’t find one either. Would you be willing to send pics of how the pullys are connected?
    susie

  5. March 7, 2012 11:47 AM

    Lorinda, I will take pictures and email them to you by tomorow afternoon.

    • lorinda hillard permalink
      April 2, 2012 1:02 PM

      I either did not get the pictures or I made a horrable mistake of deleting :( I don’t know what has happen.

    • Tris permalink
      September 1, 2013 5:47 PM

      is there any chance you could email me a picture I can`t find a manual,it is the cables I can`t figure out. Thanks

  6. September 11, 2012 9:07 PM

    I’ve at home gym the BODY LIFT 1000, picked up by my son way back in 1995 from US in brand new condition. The machine has been sparingly used and is still in very good condition. I’ve started using it for the last one week and find it effective for resistance. Using at point 5 Lat pull downs, wide grip, narrow grip. Looking for operation manual on the net.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

