Skip to content

Assisted Pull Ups and Dips

January 18, 2009

Possible dangerous acts in this post. DO NOT TRY AT HOME! Okay, not that dangerous, but if you try any of the assist techniques in this post, you are trying at your own risk. I am not responsible for you doing something stupid (like taking your hands off the bar first, that would not be good, don’t do it).

There are a few ways to do assisted pull ups and dips. Some people go to gyms that have machines that assist the pull up by counterbalancing some of your bodyweight. Well, if you have a pull up bar in your home (in a doorway or a power tower) you most likely do not have one of those nifty peices of equipment that makes it easier to do a pull up.

First, pull up assist options:

One option is the “jump” and lower slowly. This is fine. Your arms are still pulling while you’re jumping or you just wouldn’t make it that high. Option two is using a chair that is tall enough to stand on in the “top” position, typically chin over bar. Cross fit is chest to bar, but we’ll go with chin to bar just because my ceiling is not high enough to do chest to bar and because I cant do that anyway. So, you stand on the chair only using as much weight through your legs as you need to be able to complete your rep. Your legs should NOT be doing all the work. Then lower and you bend your knees as you lower. It almost looks like you’re doing an overhead squat but in reverse. Sort of, but not quite. Another option is a bar stool. The bar stool option is where you grab the bar and hang and as you’re hanging you place the top of your feet on a stool behind you. Then, pushing only as needed through the tops of the feet, you pull yourself up. Lower down, repeat repeatedly. Yeah ;). Do NOT take your hands off the bar before taking your feet off the stool. You WILL fall on your face if you do that. I like this option because it’s harder to use the legs to assist so you will likely not “overassist” with your legs.

Onto the dips, doing dips really is all the same as pull ups. You can jump to the top position, arms extended shoulders down, then lower slowly. Or you can use a stepper or stool to stand on so when you’re on the stepper you are in the top position and then bend the knees as you lower. Option three would be a chair tall enough to do what you did with the pull ups for option three. To get into position here might be more difficult if you’re unable to hold yourself up from a jump first. Option one for option three is to jump up then place feet on the chair. Option two is to stand on the chair and grab the dip handles. Then place feet carefully in the topside down position.

Here are the pics!

As for my day- get ups for five min after ten minute warm up. Tomorrow starts the practice for the high pulls, snatches, cleans and presses. It’ll add fifteen minutes to each kettlebell day. I’m looking forward to that already!

I had a great time with my BFF Debbie. She’s awesome :). Hopefully she’ll be home again soon. We went to see “Mall Cop”. Very funny movie and the main guy who’s name I don’t remember (from Chuck and Larry and Hitch) is a great actor. It is a comedy and there were many places the whole theater was laughing. There are a couple places that it’s sort of Die Hard-ish, but in a good funny way. He’s supposed to be this hero, but no one seems to notice the guy even at the end when he’s walking toward his love and gets run into by a few people crossing his path. It kind of breaks up the Die Hard-ish-ness with that humor and I like it. So go see it! Or wait for it on DVD, but definitely see it.

And I caved in and bought a foam roller. I’ll let you know how it goes once I start using it. It’s for self myofacia release. Not sure if I’m a believer, but I have thirty days to try it before I have to keep the roller. Got it from 2nd Wind in Appleton. They were cheaper than the Target prices for this but their doorway pull up bar is overpriced. I let them know that of course ;). I’m not one to keep my mouth shut.

See you all shortly on your blogs! Thanks for stopping by :).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. robfitness permalink
    January 19, 2009 12:22 AM

    Got to make this one a quick one my friend or I’ll be late for work. Love the pictures. A great addition to your post.
    I wanted to thank you for those website addresses. I did already map out a route for my Wednesday run/walk, depending on how I do. I thought I’d take it a bit easy and go for 2.28 miles for the first try to see if I can actually do it. I am hoping I can Like I mentioned before I could barely run 4 laps at the gym and I hope that running outdoors will be go better for me. At least I’ll have scenery and a purpose instead of running around in circles at the gym. 🙂
    Thanks again. Your a Godsend 🙂
    Have a great day ahead. Off to work I go now.

  2. January 19, 2009 12:31 PM

    2.28 is taking it easy! Heck, I’d like to see what you call a hard day! For me, three miles is about the top of the limit and two is already hard.

    I do like mornings when the sun is coming up. If you do go early, if you’re running toward the sunrise, remember sunglasses. It might not seem like you’ll need them when you leave, but staring into the sunrise as beautiful as it is gets hard on the eyes :). I like outside too because I can pick a spot and run toward it, where at the gym, it’s all the same.

  3. judie611 permalink
    January 19, 2009 6:53 PM

    I recently read something about those foam rollers. It was on self.com. Here it is: http://www.self.com/fitness/blogs/freshfitnesstips/2009/01/foam-roller.html

    • January 19, 2009 7:20 PM

      Thanks Judie for the link. I’ve got to figure out how to use this thing and I’ll check there to see if they have any specific techniques. Seems like rolling over it will do for the legs pretty well but I was wondering if there are any specific ones for the back. I’m hoping!

      Anymore treks out into the snow?

Leave a Reply

