Skip to content

Power to the People

January 7, 2009

I recently finished reading Power to the People by Pavel.

pttp

I found lots of good info in this book. Tons of good info. I might even toss my next NROL bout aside to try his routines for 12 weeks from this book. Then my bodyweight routines are scheduled for after that and I’ve picked up The Naked Warrior today which is… bodyweight. I might be doing a whole year of Pavel instead.

In Power to the People, two main exercises are given for the entire workout. All the time. Nothing different and exciting, just the same. It’s the deadlift and the side press. The deadlift because it is really a whole body exercise. Encorporates arms, having to grip and hold the weight from falling on your toes is hard work! Definitely encorporates the legs and the core to lift. The side press, well, many of the same reasons. The bar is to be lifted from the floor each rep which though a lighter weight, still encorporates the squatting to pick it up.

Pavel encourages low reps, high weight, low to medium sets. No more than 5 sets of 5 if I recall (it has been two days). I will definitely re-read before I plan my program from this book, but definitely a good read. He also explains why going to failure is not recommended in everyday plain language.

Today’s workout: just ten minutes in the morning. It’s an off day for kettlebells. I borrowed from Craig Ballantynes bodyweigt 100 and the jumps in the morning were the worst! I switched out the push ups for plank on elbows and the second set of push ups for sit ups. I didn’t do inverted rows because I didn’t want to go into my cold basement to do the ten minutes this am.

Vegetable: I’m steaming a baby red potato right now. Wondered to myself, will it take longer to boil it whole or chop it up and steam it? Who knows. I figured I’d try steaming. I’ll probably eat it half raw anyway because I like the crispyness of a raw tater. Just as long as it’s warm tonight cuz I want to smash it up and put some garlic and paprika on it. This is also my dinner.

I went out with my best friend in the whole world tonight!!! She’s back for a bit from overseas and finishes this tour in about 10 weeks. It’s great to have her home even if she has to go back in a little while. We did some shopping. I hate missing the sales at Bath and Body Works so we went there. Then bookstores (two of them), random stores throughout the mall, and Target. We spent a ton of time at Barnes and Nobels. The Appleton location is twice as big as the Green Bay location and I was quite happy! Lots more selection.

Well, I probably will catch up tomorrow with the rest of you all so see you then!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    January 7, 2009 10:21 PM

    Haha got to love all those Pavel books. I thought about looking at The Naked Warrior, but I think ultimately that bodyweight exercises are pretty easy, and don’t need a whole lot of explanation.
    Deadlifts! What an awesome workout they provide. I’m keeping my eye out for a barbell specifically so I can do those at home…

    • January 8, 2009 5:42 AM

      I agree, the two exercises themselves are not hard to do. I’m hoping that it’s full of other great info sort of like PTTP is. Those are two fairly easy exercises in that book as well. I don’t think either one can really be bought just for the exercises. With a glance through Naked Warrior though, seems like it’s a lot of rehash from what was in PPTP. I might end up returning it if that’s the case. I’m not interested in reading the same book with different exercises in it.

      I got a barbell and 300 lbs of weight for about 100 bucks at Dicks Sporting Goods. Don’t know if you have one of those or not. They had a package deal, probably still do.

  2. ladlam permalink
    January 8, 2009 2:07 PM

    Ahh, that’s a shame that naked warrior is rehashing so much! Really at the end of the day, I guess it’s the information rather than the specific exercises that is valuable. If there’s no useful information in it, you might as well just look up exercises online!

  3. robfitness permalink
    January 8, 2009 3:36 PM

    This Pavel guy seems to be pretty popular. Never heard of him until you mentioned him and now I have heard his name mentioned on several blogs.
    Sounds like you got a pretty good deal on those weights. So what kind of lifting exercises will you be doing with them. Make sure you post some pics so we can see your “guns”. 🙂
    Your doing great!

  4. January 8, 2009 6:49 PM

    Luke, I had another half day, and read the rest. Not worth keeping since I have PTTP, so I’m returning Naked Warrior, probably on Saturday. There is useful information in it, just not enough to pay 40 dollars for if you’ve already got the other one.

    Rob, THe weights were a good deal! 300lb total for 100 dollars. Perfect :). That and my bench/squat rack combo were my first purchases in the world of lifting. I did the NROL programs with them and then in October I also bought dumbells from 5-65 lbs as a set for about 450. Pretty good deal there, too. Usually it’s about a dollar a pound or more. I didn’t need the 5, 10, or 15’s but since it was cheaper that way, we did it that way.

    I’ll flex in my next pic ;).

  5. ladlam permalink
    January 8, 2009 7:43 PM

    What a bummer Michelle. Oh well, if you can get your money back I guess its no big deal!
    You have a bench and rack as well! I’d really like a squat rack and neeeed a pullup bar. I think I will have to build one soon!

  6. January 9, 2009 6:49 PM

    Definitely returning the book :). My squat rack is a pretty cheap model to take up very small space (did buy it when I lived in an 800 sq ft apartment). I’m going to add a doorway pull up bar in the main level (my husband will love that). I love my power tower though but we used the door pull up bar for awhile in our small apartment before bringing the power tower in from the garage.

Leave a Reply

