Skip to content

Pics- After NROL, Before Enter The Kettlebell

January 5, 2009

Weight:129 this AM. I’m going to use the stats from Wednesday and I’ll retake stats this upcoming Monday morning. It didn’t make sense for me to remeasure when I just did it less than a week ago so my first measure will be a week and a half, but it was half an off week :).

Yes, everything is pink. I’m even wearing pink tinkerbell non-skid socks, pink watch, and even my glasses are pink.

I do like pink :).

Veggies today, one cup of steamed broccoli in an omlette with turkey bacon and cheese. Quite yummy. I happen to like broccoli quite a bit so I’m guessing that 75% of my one cup of veggies a day are going to be broccoli. Eventually I’ll get bored with broccoli and switch it up. When? Who knows :).

Enter the Kettlebell: First workout today. I was sweating quite a bit. The swings were not as easy as I thought they’d be. 12 min of swings! I did a few hand to hand swings and I like ’em!!! The ten minute “warm up” is just as hard as the 12 min of swings. Next workout tomorrow is 10 min “warm up” drills and then 5 min of Turkish get-ups. I’m sure it will be hell.

The kettlebell was definitely a nice switch from pumping the iron :).

My ten minutes this am consisted of burpee’s, squat thrusts, forward and backward lunges, jumping jacks. Ten minutes in the morning… nearly painful! Na, not painful, just not what I’m used to. Tomorrow is one of my planned 100 Push-Up Challenge days so tomorrow my ten minutes will be the push ups. If I can use my arms! Even though with the swing the arms dont lift or pull exactly, they still feel like they got quite the workout. My shoulders are not sore and my wrists feel fine.

The swings were good for the legs, arms, core, and got the heart rate up. I’ll enjoy them next time, too :).

10 Comments leave one →
  1. ladlam permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:56 PM

    Wow, you’re in very good shape for a mum!
    Careful doing all those pushups right before you practice the getups! Don’t want to drop that kettlebell.

  2. January 5, 2009 11:20 PM

    Whoa, 12 minutes of kettlebell swings? I don’t think I’ve ever come close. I do love swingin’ that kettlebell though! 🙂

  3. robfitness permalink
    January 6, 2009 12:02 AM

    Your looking quite good there. Very impressive!
    I like the new style of your blog as well. Adding pictures and little things here and there do add a bit of variety and fun into the mix. Something we should all do in our workouts as well. I know I should take that advice and do more with my workouts. I’m trying though and that’s what counts. I guess we all have to do what’s best and what works for us.
    Your doing great there!

  4. Alyce permalink
    January 6, 2009 12:04 PM

    You look great, very healthy and fit! 🙂 I kind of want to give the 100 pushup challenge a try because right now I can only do like 4 (I didn’t think I was so weak until I attempted to see what my max without an incline was, it’s embarassing!), how is that working out for you?

    The kettlebell workouts sound so … compacted. It seems like you’d work a lot of parts pretty hard in a relatively short time.

  5. January 6, 2009 12:32 PM

    Luke, I split it up so hopefully no kettlebell to the noggin ;). I did my push up workout this AM and it’ll be about a 13 hour difference (unlucky number) before doing the TGU’s.

    Julie, the swings are alternated with an active recovery. I just pretend jump roped in place till I could pick the KB up again and start swinging. So, not 12 min straight, but I was definitely fatigued at the end! Asked hubby how much time was left, he was facing our timer.

    Rob, You’re right, do what works for you! If it’s not broken, don’t fix it! Your workouts are amazing and I don’t know how you do it. I guess we all get into our routines and it becomes second nature (hopefully) and we don’t even really think about it. Then it takes seeing routines like yours to realize I could be doing more. You definitely out-do me on a daily basis and I’m proud of you for it! Keep it up!

    Alyce, I’m really loving the KB’s so far (after only one day 😉 ). When I started 100 push up challenge on Monday the 30th of Dec I could do 4. It is now 8 days later and I can do 8 in a row (after four sets of smaller reps). If I did just my max, I think I could do 10. And that’s only 8 days! I’m amazed I’m doing that well in 8 days. When I saw the workouts, I thought, no way. But now, I’m temporarily converted.

  6. ladlam permalink
    January 6, 2009 2:08 PM

    Ahhh very good! Plenty of time for recovery then. What will you do for the TGU’s? 5 minutes continuous?

    • January 6, 2009 4:27 PM

      Yep, continuous alternating one arm then the next. Five full minutes! Wish me luck ;). From the swings yesterday even my inner thighs are burning today. For something that doesn’t “look” like much work, it sure packs a heavy wallop the next day. I didn’t take my protein powder last night though and wonder if that’s part of the reason for the soreness EVERYWHERE!!!

  7. January 6, 2009 5:23 PM

    You look awesome! I can’t imagine where you will be at with your after pics. Great job on the workout. I have only done a few things with the kettle ball, but not anything consistently.

  8. ladlam permalink
    January 6, 2009 6:35 PM

    Today is TGU day for me too. Good luck! If you weren’t sore enough after the swings yesterday, you should feel like you’ve worked hard once you’ve finished 5 minutes of TGUs 😀
    You’re right, it looks like such a simple exercise but it destroys your entire body so quickly!

  9. January 6, 2009 7:49 PM

    Teresa, I loved the swings yesterday more than the get up’s today, but so far, day two, I’m loving it! Definitely sore today, definitely worse tomorrow! I’m hoping to have after pics up on the first Monday in April. That’s my goal :).

    Luke, I was sore! Entire thigh, butt, arms, delts. Sore sore sore! It certainly is a great exercise for something that looks so simple. Well, I learned, looking simple does not mean easy!

Leave a Reply

