Skip to content

New 21 Day Habits

January 4, 2009

Tomorrow, Monday the Fifth, is my start date for my next 21 day habit. As I started last year sometime, can’t remember when, I started to slowly work my way into clean eating. So far I have not done much. BUT everything I have done is a habit and I feel confident that if I slip, I will not fall.

New habits: Adding 1 cup of veggies per day. I mentioned this in a prior post, so not suprising to hear I’m sure :). But it is something I desperately need to do. I have had a veggie hatred for most of my life and it needs to end. NOW!

veggies

10 min a day habit- awhile back I was saying ten minutes a day is no biggie and anyone could add in just ten minutes. So, I am! In the mornings, just doing some light calisthenics to wake myself up. Nothing major. No heavy lifting or anything. And when the weather gets nice again I’ll mix those up with a couple morning runs again. I used to enjoy running in the morning before the rest of the world woke up.

workout-woman

Organizing- I have a routine for the week (though I did just change it to new days). My routine (from last year and beyond) has been to spend 15 min a day in an area of my house. This year M=kitchen and dining room, T=pay bills, W= family room and living room, R=bathrooms, F= my one hour mission. I time myself :). I sweep, mop, vacuum, windex all mirrors and glass shelves, take out the little garbages and the big garbage, and dust. Not always in that order. Actually, rarely in that order. Mopping is last so I don’t get wet feet doing the rest of the stuff. Saturday=bedroom, Sunday= car.
I’m adding on 15 min a day for the next three weeks to organize my desk area and paperwork that is overwhelming it. Then, it should stay that way! I’ll also buy any needed organizational tools during the next three weeks so hopefully soon I’ll have a functional desk area again.

messy-desk

Pictures tomorrow!!! I am taking ending pictures (though I didn’t take start pictures) for my weight lifting these past three months. Just trust me that I do look better ;). And these end pictures will also be the start pictures for kettlebells. I will try to post them by wednesday.

The pictures in this post are for my daughter who said my blog is “too boring”. Thanks kiddo ;). I promised her more pics. I stole them from yahoo picture searches. I’ll try to take my own sometime 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. davidwray81 permalink
    January 4, 2009 8:39 PM

    21 day habits? My OCD self is liking this although I will probably have to round it to 28 days just for the sake of it being 4 full weeks instead of a crazy odd number like 3. Also, I had never heard of flylady before, looks like I have some reading to do.

  2. January 5, 2009 8:56 AM

    Hey you should get a steamer for those veggies. My sister got me one for Christmas and I swear I am addicted to steaming veggies now. It’s awesome! I even started buying fresh vegetables now too. Can’t wait to see your new pics. My kids think I’m boring, not just my blog so you’re doing better than me.

  3. judie611 permalink
    January 5, 2009 10:57 AM

    This is so great! You are very inspiring. I need to get organized too. Would make everyone in my house a lot happier, myself included. Good luck! I look forward to reading your results.

  4. January 5, 2009 1:49 PM

    Give it a try David :). I picked 21 days because apparently someone somewhere decided it takes 21 days to make a habit. Don’t know who it was, but I’ve been having good success so I’ll go with it 😉

    Teresa, I definitely do need another steamer. I use a metal strainer, so not technically a steamer, but use steam to cook stuff. My hubby probably thinks I’m crazy because sometimes he fills the water in the pan to high and then it touches the veggies. Then those ones are over done and the rest are just right. Hopefully my daughter will like the pictures. But she’s so not into fitness and stuff so I suppose I probably do bore the crap out of her.

    Thanks Judie! I’ll definitely be posting how the rest of the goals go as well. It’s definitely a good start to making my home more liveable. It’s usually clean, but never really very organized. I would let people in the front door, but I wouldn’t let them open the closet door!

    • January 5, 2009 3:47 PM

      I did some looking and there’s a guy who did the research for me. Apparently it was a 21 day thing with amputee’s and there really is no perfect timeline for making, or breaking, a habit.

      But since it works, I wont fix it :).

  5. robfitness permalink
    January 5, 2009 11:57 PM

    Boy, I love my Veggies! Always have and I am sure by the 21 days you’ll be too. So what kind of Veggies are you eating? What are the ones you’ll NEVER touch? I know I hate cauliflower, but love just about anything else. Love your idea of starting the 21 day thing though! I tried it with my Diet Soda, but failed L
    As of yesterday I’m at it again and will try even harder to stay away from that and eating/drink more cleaner.
    Keep up the great work! I know you’ll succeed in all your goals. Your one determined and motivated person. After reading your posts I realize that I have to do more for myself and you’re a real inspiration for me to get off my butt and do things for myself to improve my life in all areas; both fitness and eating wise. Thanks for your support!

  6. January 6, 2009 12:37 PM

    I have frozen veggies in the freezer- broccoli, peas, lima beans (I know, not technically a veggie, but I’m counting it), and mixed veggies- green beans, peas, carrots…

    I’m not worrying if one veggie is better than another. For this 21 days a potato is just as good as broccoli as long as I get a cup a day.

    When I cut out diet pepsi, I added water first. Give it a try that way and see if it helps. Today is only day 28 for me without soda and I still miss it. It’ll be awhile yet before I can have a sip without falling off the wagon. I’ve tried quitting before, probably a dozen times in the last two years. This is the farthest I’ve gone without breaking down. And this time, with adding water first, I missed out on the wonderful headaches.

    You are just as much an inspiration to me! You’ve done far more than I have and are much more dedicated. I’m glad we met here in this blogging world. I’ve love reading your progress and journey! I can’t wait to hear more about the triathalon training :).

Leave a Reply

