Skip to content

Why Do Guys Wax?

December 18, 2008

I have never understood the waxing of the chest. I just dont get it. If it’s REALLY that bad, take a trimmer to it, but waxing? I’m not a fan of the gorilla look by any means, it’s just, waxing?!?

I was looking at some transformation contests and every guy I saw that had chest hair BEFORE the start of the contest had removed it by the end. And most were more tan. Is that just the natural sequence of events? Get buff, shave your chest, go fake bake or spray tan? What’s next??? Butt implants!?!

Guys, you do not have to shave your chest to be buff. Prime example, Pavel is buff and he has a mildly hairy chest. It does not make him look like a gorilla.

In other news, I went to Dicks today. They don’t have any idea who I am. However, the guys at 2nd Wind DO know me by name! Anyway, back on track, I bought a mat that goes under equipment but I’m using it for when I do lunges because my feet slide on our tile floor and it caused my knee to buckle two times ago when trying to prevent sliding and still maintain the proper form and lifting the weight back up. I used my yoga mat last time but it just scares me because it’s sorta flimsy. I also got a cute pair of pink running shoes, some fingerless gloves for Josh for kettlebells (not grippy ones, but the felt lined ones so it wont help or hinder the kettlebell). Oh, and I got a cute pink boxing glove keyring. Maybe this will mean I will stop losing the key to my house!

Then I went to the bookstore. I picked up Eat to Live and read the foreward so far. I’d like to get it done before I start back up with my classes. I also got Power To The People by Pavel. I can’t remember how to spell his last name more than the first three letters so hopefully just Pavel will do. I looked into that in the store but not here at home. By what I saw in the store, I might have A LOT to discuss and learn the next few weeks. I’m not putting a rush on this one because next time I lift weights will be quite some time from the new year. I haven’t figured out the exact date yet, but I’d say the 14th week of the year is a good estimate. The first 12 are kettlebells and then one week off before starting weight lifting and from there to bodyweight routines (just in time for summer). I have so many fun summer bodyweight things I’d like to do. We’ll see what I get to by that time.

FINALLY!!! The Workout!!!
Today was a leg day. I did box on my bag and I did do some kicks. I did more kicks with my right leg because my left is still a bit tender where I wacked it last time on the settled part of my bag. Just bruised though, nothing too serious. I might ice it again tonight, but then maybe I’ll be lazy. Never know.

The leg workout today was 3 sets of 15 reps. I had to bump down the weight on the lunges from what I guessed from last time. Doing 5×5 is definitely not the same as doing 3×15. I overestimated based on the numbers even though it was a bit less than the last time.

No big changes really. Weight changes up and down every week based on sets and reps. Just know I’m making progress :).

Happy Lifting!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2008 3:07 PM

    I have no idea why men wax their chests. I have noticed that too in those before and after photos. Maybe they think it will aid in the dramatic “after” shot?

  2. Teresa permalink
    December 21, 2008 5:27 PM

    That is too funny! I am totally with you. Not into guys with waxed chests. I think that’s kind of a requirement for body builder competitions. Strange to me though.

  3. December 22, 2008 8:59 PM

    Hey there Judie :). Did you notice all the spray tan? It’s downright scary!

    Nice too meet you Teresa. I think you’re right about the bodybuilder competitions. Or even if it’s not, they all do it so a suddenly hairy guy amidst all the waxed guys would be odd. But for regular internet loose some weight competitions… Keep the hair! As long as it’s not like gorilla hair ;).

Leave a Reply

