Skip to content

Tracking My Food

December 16, 2008

I’ve been trying to loose weight the hard way. The hard way, of course, is the right way. Taking it slow, not starving myself (I love to eat too much anyway). Exercising and eating right (or sort of right). And of course not taking fad pills (I accidentally typed fat instead of fad… probably because when taking those pills lots of times the lost weight is water and lean tissue :(. Skinny fat is still fat).

I’ve been doing much better at tracking my food on MyPlate. I don’t know how to link to my profile. Tried to add it to my links but then you need to sign in to see what I eat. I also noticed on days I lift, I eat less. Maybe because there’s less time? I have no idea. On days I lift I get about 1200 to 1400 cals and on off days I get about 1800-2000. My off days are usually during the week or only one of the two weekend days. I ALWAYS lift on at least one weekend day. I think it helps me to keep my weekends on track. MyPlate is awesome compared to other sites I’ve tried. Searching for restaurants is easy to do. I love that. Putting in the activities (though I only track my exercise) is easy to do. No entering every single darn exercise, just general weight lifting will do the trick :).

So, if you’ve got another type of food tracker, at least give MyPlate a try. You might like it better ;).

On to the workout. NROL Hypertrophy 1A
First superset: Incline press with seated row. Went well.
Second superset: Shoulder press with wide grip lat pulldown. No issues there except barely being able to do all my reps.
Third superset: Narrow grip bench with high pull. I am absolutely in love with the high pull. My husband came down to spot me on the narrow grip bench so I was able to do more reps that I otherwise would have alone. There were a couple reps I wouldn’t have attempted without someone around, so my first two sets I did get in all ten reps!!!
Last, swiss ball cruch all lonely by itself.
All 4 sets by 10 reps except the crunch remains constant at 3×15.

After that I did another one of The Firm workout videos. I’m really not a fan of them, just happens to be what I have. I remember these video’s from “Escape My Shape”. I remember I sold them at a rummage sale but I vaguely remember liking them. Ah well. I have many other video’s.

My next workout day is Thursday! It’ll be my leg day 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. judie611 permalink
    December 17, 2008 5:05 AM

    I think if I had to count calories, well, I don’t know what I’d do but I would not be happy. I prefer to live in ignorance 🙂

  2. robfitness permalink
    December 17, 2008 8:45 AM

    “My Plate” does sound interesting and I’ll have to check it out. I have a feeling that it won’t work for me because my diet is pretty bland for now. Still trying to lose so I keep my meals real simple. They just consist of Oatmeal and Egg whites for Breakfast and the rest of my meals are basically fish/chicken, vegetables and maybe a starch. For snacks I have my protein shakes. So this is what I eat like 7 days a week. I don’t temp myself by eating out much and if I do I keep that simple too.
    I still might give that site a try though. It’s a good way to really document my eating and then I use this blog to document all my workouts. An over all good plan, I think.

    By the way I love my “Leg” days. i think they are one of my best features and were I am the strongest. Then a gain we all probably like what we are strongest at. My week areas are my arms so i guess I’ll just have to work harder on those.

    Keep it up and thanks again for the support.

    • December 17, 2008 2:32 PM

      Rob, they even had my protein powder in their data base! They have everything it seems. It’s pretty easy to enter the stuff and you enter your portion size after adding it. FitDay is slightly easier to use, but has nowhere near the amount of foods in their database.

Leave a Reply

