Skip to content

Todays Workout and The Twelve Days of Fitness

December 14, 2008

The 12 Days of Fitness is a fitness giveaway. You can find it here: http://www.12daysoffitness.com/
I’ve already downloaded bodyweight workouts, kettlebell workouts, nutrition information, lots of training info! It’s been a ton of great information and each day you get options of what you’d like to download.

My fitness education goes back a few years now. Started about three years ago with the start of my physical therapist assistant coursework. Continued from there to weight training, intervals, running, and all stuff associated with that. By no means am I an expert. I’d need to study another twenty years to be qualified to call myself that and some people who have studied that long still arent. But I know enough to get by and help others. Kind of important in my line of work ;).

But with all the learning I’ve done in the past couple years, nutrition is a topic where I’m severly lacking in education. I am certain that I don’t need to eat every three hours. And I’m certain that not eating breakfast wont kill me or make me obese. I’d like to learn more particularlly about intermittent fasting and about others who support the idea that we don’t need to eat every three hours. My “education” so far in the last two years has suggested we need to eat often. I beleived that for two years or more. Not sure I do anymore. Another thing I’d like to learn more about is protein requirements. I’ve heard that high protein can be bad for the liver. I’ve also read about people eating higher rates of raw fruits and veggies and getting low protein but still having no loss of lean muscle tissue. So, those two things, definitely, I want to learn more about in the upcoming year.

Onto the workout:

I don’t think I’m capable of making it through an entire week without something going wrong. I bruised my ankle badly today on my heavy bag. I had a bump on it of swelling not even five minutes later. Quite puffy, but I’m sure it’s just a bad bruise.

First superset- squat and deadlift shrug. No issues.
Second superset- lunges and step ups.
Last- reverse crunch
5 sets, 5 reps. So fairly high weight.

Boxing, about fifteen minutes. I hit my ankle at about 10 min and had to stop by 15 though I wouldn’t have lasted much longer anyway. The five exercises don’t look like they’d take long or really wipe me out, but they do. Five sets… Sort of nice. But I think I did six sets on the lunges and supersets but I can’t be sure. I did an extra just in case and I’m about 90% sure I did six. I was 90% sure I’d done five, so had to do another just in case the 10% chance that I hadn’t was the right one.

Happy Lifting!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyce permalink
    December 15, 2008 2:14 PM

    Thanks for posting that 12 days of fitness link, I’m definitely going to sign up! Really awesome workout, I hope your ankle heals up quickly!

  2. judie611 permalink
    December 16, 2008 10:57 AM

    I’d love to learn more about nutrition as well. You know how I have blogged about the show Ruby? At one point, her nutritionist actually took her to a store and walked around with her and helped her make choices about what to purchase. I would LOVE that!

    I hope your ankle feels better soon.

  3. December 16, 2008 8:22 PM

    Definitely check it out Alyce! I’ve downloaded a ton of great info. So much that I’m saving most of it for later! There’s no way I can get through all of it in one day or even one week.

    I’d love that too Judie. Not so much at the store, but at my house. Hubby buys not good stuff on his “alone” shopping spree’s though when we go together, we’re usually pretty good even if I do have to tell him to put the chips back :).

    I’m sure the ankle is just bruised. It’s sore to the touch and a tad puffy but nothing like that first night. Not nearly as tender. And it doesn’t hurt to walk or move it, just to touch it. Didn’t interfere at all with tonights workout!

Leave a Reply

