Skip to content

Food, Glorious Food

December 11, 2008

First of all, I didn’t work out tonight. It was a scheduled day and I just didn’t do it. No excuses even. Just pure lazyness. I don’t know what’s gotten into me. I need to kick myself in the ass.

On a different note, clean eating again and all those fads out there. There are people who are saying to eat no bread. None. Zip. Zilch. It’s a popular thing to remove all breads and grains from the diet right now. I don’t know how this got so popular. To me it seems like all those other fads that say never eat fat (though our bodies need fat in our diets). I recently read the “elimination diet” by Dax Moy. He also suggests no bread (okay, more than just suggests). Not necessarily a bad plan or anything, just not a fan. Anyone who tells me to not eat bread will be hunted down and beaten with a dried out roll. So there.

But it got me to thinking of all those other fads. Eat this, not that. Eat only banana’s. Only drink water with lemon in it for weeks on end. Eat only potatoes (had a raw potato for lunch today, it was good 🙂 ). Eliminating all sorts of things from our diets to me seems like just another fad. Once they told us to eat only carbs, now they’re telling us to eat no carbs. Sorry, but based on all the evidence I don’t think either is right. The “evidence” is shaky and seems to sway toward whichever way they want it to. It swayed in the “eat only carbs” direction years ago. For something to be good one year and bad the next, then good, then bad, then good… you get the idea- seems like somewhere in the middle might be more appropriate. Eliminating refined sugars I can understand. Eliminating preservatives- I get that. Eliminating my bread?!?! Sorry, not going to happen!

I think I might be able to do the “eat only pizza” diet. I only weighed 112 lbs when I did the pizza and pasta diet years back. I worked for a pizza place and ate all the free food I could handle for 7 years. Boy was I suprised when I did my first grocery shopping after quitting there. Who knew food cost that much?

Another thing I see often are diet pills, diet supplements, diet stuff. And for each of them it makes some note somewhere that the pill, supplement, stuff should be combined with exercise and good diet. So, is it the pill or is it the change in habits?

Then of course there’s the shakes for breakfast and lunch. I know someone who did that. And yeah, lost a ton of weight. But 6 months later? All back. When someone doesn’t eat anything for all that time to loose the weight, then starts eating normally again, well of course the increase in calories are going to add up. Severe calorie restrictions aren’t healthy either.

And those calorie restrictions lead me to the “eat every three hours or the world is going to end” plan. Another thing I hate, the push to eat every three hours. When I was in elementary school they didn’t pass out morning snacks. They do now. Do they REALLY need to do that? I don’t think so. Lunch is only four hours from breakfast. Seriously, can a child really not handle four hours? Especially since most of the kids in schools now are above their healthy weight? Last week I didn’t eat breakfast once and I lost weight. Other times I’ve gained weight. I think it has nothing to do with the actual eating of breakfast but rather overall caloric intake during the day. Maybe eating breakfast causes SOME people to eat less later. Maybe skipping breakfast causes SOME people to binge at lunch time. Maybe eating every three hours isn’t for everyone. It’s not for me. If I ate every three hours I’d eat way more than my recommended calories and probably gain weight. I like having a 800-1000 calorie lunch. Then if I ate breakfast like they recommend that’d probably be at least 200 cals. Then my snack at 9 am- lets make that 100 cals. Then my 3 pm snack, another 100 cals. For supper that would leave me 100 to 300 calories if I stick with my recommended 1500 cals for the day. I do go over that with just eating two meals and one snack.

Intermittent fasting is a new fad that is taking off quite popularly. I think it’s great. Wonderful. Awesome!!! Not because they say to fast for 24 hours once or twice a week, but because FINALLY, oh my dear lord, FINALLY someone is saying it’s okay to not eat every three hours.

Which brings me all the way to clean eating as described in New Rules of Lifting by Lou Schuller (my bible for anyone who doesnt know that already). Clean eating is three degrees. First degree is picturing it right from the source- so fruits, veggies, meats. Second degree is two steps removed from the source so that might be juice (unsweetened of course). Third degree is three steps away from the source so that’d be like cheese (cow to milk to cheese).

Clean eating has served us since the beginning of time. What did our cavemen ancestors eat? Well, definitely within the three degrees. Probably often within the first two degrees. Yeah they didn’t live as long as us, but since when was anyone in WI attacked by a lion?

There are many clean eating sites online and I recommend checking out a few. A general search on the internet for “clean eating” will do. Also, Marks Daily Apple on the left is another good source for clean eating though he calls it “the primal blueprint”. Clean eating isn’t a fad. It’s been around for ages. Eventually (21 days at a time) I’m going to get to my goal of eating clean. So far, day two without soda, I’m feeling great. Next goal, 20 days from now, add in a vegetable or fruit for every meal.

When it comes to nutrition, I’m trying to learn more everyday. Please add your comments and opinions. Never know, you could just teach me something ;).

Happy lifting!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. judie611 permalink
    December 12, 2008 3:24 PM

    I believe it comes down to portion size. Eat what you want but try to acknowledge how much you are eating. Of course, it may be easier said than done!

  2. December 12, 2008 10:01 PM

    lol, definitely easier said than done when I’ve got to log how many brownies I’ve been eating! I agree with you. Though there are some things I think are bad, like unnatural preservative filled stuff, most things are just fine when they’re in small portions.

  3. kojasa permalink
    December 12, 2008 11:08 PM

    Much has to do with just accurately observing what you are eating. And not just from memory. Actually keeping an eating journal. (Most people roll their eyes at this point.)

    There was a study done in 1958 by a fellow by the name of A. J. Stunkard which was published in the New York State Journal of Medicine. He found that people who wanted to lose weight didn’t think they were eating too much. So he asked them to write down everything they had eaten for the past two days. From what they wrote it did indeed seem that they weren’t eating excessively. So why weren’t they losing any weight?

    It turns out their memories weren’t accurate. When they were put on a diet consisting of what they had written down from (faulty) memory every one of them began to lose weight.

    From personal experience I know that this method works. It may be tedious but realistically most people eat many of the same foods, in the same quantities, over and over again. By keeping accurate records you can really get a handle on what you are doing and put yourself in a position to change for the better. You become an expert on yourself, your own habits.

    Think of how little progress you’d make with your workouts if you didn’t write down every rep, set, weight, and when you train. Take that same process and apply it to the food you eat. I highly recommend it.

    I like your blog and I like your attitude. Keep up the good work.

  4. December 13, 2008 7:53 PM

    Thanks for the comment Kojasa. I notice that, too. People think they’ve only eaten a little when really, all those snacks in between were completely forgotten. My hubby is exactly that way. I’ve started on MyPlate now and I’m liking it :). I do eat many of the same things so that makes it easier because the “recently eaten” list doesn’t change much.

Leave a Reply

