Skip to content

Having My Last Diet Pepsi

December 9, 2008

I like Diet Pepsi. I am giving up Diet Pepsi. Tonight until midnight is the last I can have it for the next 21 days. Starting tomorrow, my new goal is NO MORE Diet Pepsi. After 21 days I can go by the 90/10 principle.

Todays workout- Did part B from Hypertrophy 1.
It was killer. Doing the lunges (static) in place of the bulgarian split squats was definitely nice. My left knee gave me a bit of trouble, but nothing serious. I was sweating by the end of my first set of my first superset. Squats, deadlifts, lunges, step ups, and reverse curls. Not a ton of exercises, but having to do the lunges and step ups on each leg is time consuming. I took about 45 min. 4 sets of 10 each. On occasion, particularly after the lunge/step up combo, I did need to rest for more than the 60 seconds. At one point I rested for nearly three minutes. Most times I took more than the minute but usually less than two minutes. That probably contributed to the long time it took me to complete this routine.

After my workout, had my yummy protein shake and .25 of a fresh pineapple. Then I went back down and did some boxing on my bag. I could only do 15 min. I was wiped! It was nice to get out those pink boxing gloves again :).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2008 4:32 AM

    Boxing gloves are also very important, as you will be using your hands a lot. Boxing gloves come in a number of different styles and sizes, so when you are visiting your sporting equipment store, ask someone that knows something about boxing to help you find the right size.

  2. robfitness permalink
    December 10, 2008 3:12 PM

    I know that feeling when it comes to Diet Sodas. I too stopped drinking them altogether about 4 weeks ago. At first it was hard, mainly because I really do like the taste of them. I am sure you’ll do fine without them. You seem to have the determination that once you have your mind set on something you’ll do what it takes to accomplish it. So what made you decide to quit? I myself just wanted a more natural diet and I am trying to eliminate anything that has “artificial” stuff in it. It’s not an easy task, but I do try.
    Oh how I HATE lunges! I am lucky for now because I haven’t had to do them in my training and to be honest I don’t mention them either. Just not my favorite thing to do even thought they are suppose to be good for you.
    You sure do a good variety in your workouts. I bet that helps break up your routine so you don’t get bored. Did you learn all what you know through books or did someone instruct you a long the way.
    Whatever your doing it’s working. So Keep it up, the holidays are fast approaching so be on your best behavior. Then again I have this slight feeling that you good stray and still not suffer like I would.

    By the way I also wanted to thank you so much for your comments and support. I does mean a lot to me and I appreciate it all.
    We all have to stick together, right?

  3. December 10, 2008 7:07 PM

    Hi Rob! I’m not a fan of lunges either, but I’m NOT doing any more bulgarian split squats till after I do kettlebells!

    I’m quitting soda because I want to cut out the bad things and add good things (21 days at a time). I’ve quit soda repeatedly with no long term success. Hoping this time, just maybe, I can do it. I’m glad I didn’t have headaches today!

Leave a Reply

