Skip to content

Get a Grip

December 2, 2008

As usual, I am having trouble with my grip. I’ve decided an alternate course of action is needed.

strappy-grippy1

Above is a pic of me with my new grip assist :). Okay, it’s a karate belt. No I wasn’t in karate long. To slow for me. Anyway, I decided to wrap the belt around the weight a couple times and then hold the strap. The weights in the pic are pretty “light” but after 20 times on both legs, for a total of 40- Then another 40 more… yeah, even 25’s eventually get heavy! So there ;). My set of four with 12 reps was with 40 lbs in each hand. That gets really heavy.

Here’s a closeup from the front side, looks like I’m just grabbing the weight and the strap as one unit.
The hand is a bit farther back on the weight to counterbalance the strap being toward the front.
strap-close-up

But as you can see from the next pic, I’m holding the strap with my last two fingers and holding the dumbbell and strap with the first two fingers.

strappy-close

The strap helps because I can decide how short or long to make it so my arms and grip are still working as much as they are able. But after about 20 reps, it gets damn hard to hold onto those suckers! My arms fatigue way before my legs do. This today let me be able to really focus on my form with my legs without having to try to juggle my weights.

And that’s about as close to a pic of me as I’m posting right now :).

My workout was great. I had some issues completing all my reps- again with that shoulder press! I feel like a wuss when I can’t do them all. And with the increased resistance with the underhand lat pulldown I had difficulties. The push press I couldn’t complete all reps either, upped the weight there by 5 lb each side. It wasn’t because of the weight, it was my damn elbow issue where the tendon gets pinched. I’m going to try “the sock” next time. I’ll let you know if that helps. And maybe more pics of that :).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. judie611 permalink
    December 3, 2008 11:31 AM

    I love the pictures! Thank you for sharing. You look completely different than what I expected 🙂 I should post some pics on my blog. One of these days- hee hee.

  2. December 3, 2008 4:26 PM

    I’m not nearly as buff as I’d like to be. It was also immediately after a workout so I’m sure the sweat isn’t pretty ;).

    I imagine most people to look similar to me online. No idea why, but ya’ll in my imagination have brown hair, wear glasses, and are about 5’6″. Then I see a pic and I’m always taken by suprise!

  3. David Fox permalink
    December 5, 2008 7:36 PM

    hi. welcome to another wi. winter how are you. i am sorry it has been a while i have been working and keeping bussy. as i see you are to with work and school. i hope you and Karma are enjoying the snow and hope to chat with you soon my friend.
    Dave

    • December 6, 2008 8:33 PM

      I’ve been on IM a bit more lately. Never see you on though :(. Have Sarah add me to her IM and then her and I can chat about you guys and plot your murders… I mean, plot nothing at all ;). I’m hoping in Jan we can all get together for the movie night. Holidays and family stuff going on right now, so that’d probably work best for all of us. Debbie is coming back home for a week in January as well so maybe you’ll get to meet her finally.

Leave a Reply

