Skip to content

Take That Alwyn and Lou

November 29, 2008

So I finished my workout. Part B of Fat Loss 3 from NROL. Let me tell you this workout is absolutely murder.

Anyway, today was the first time I’ve completed this workout without feeling as if I was going to puke sometime during or immediately following the workout!!! YAY ME!!! I did increase the weight I was mentioning and will increase the step up weight on the second superset next time around. The shoulder press at the increased weight was definitely tough. I think I need those plate buddies or whatever they’re called so I can up the dumbells by 2.5 lbs instead of 5 lb on each side. For me, with the shoulder press, going from 15 to 20lb on each side for 20 reps is difficult. Yes, I’m a girl. Yeah, I suppose I’m a wuss. I only made 16 reps both times but the second time I stopped at 13 then pumped out three more after a breath or two.

But I still don’t feel like I’m gonna puke!

AND I’m going clubbing tonight!!! YAY WOOHOO!!! It’s been a while since I was out dancing and I so love to dance. We’ll get there around 10. I’ll be on the floor by 10:30. I’ll be on the floor till 2am when they kick me out. My sister is going along tonight so I won’t have too much trouble with grabby guys. They tend to swarm around her. She’s blond and skinny… Evil wench ;). But, hey, I can dance better! Yeah, that’s not much consolation…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyce permalink
    November 29, 2008 8:50 PM

    I totally feel you on the shoulder press, it’s one of the only NROL moves that I haven’t moved up from yet (I’m still at 15 lbs … luckily my gym has 17.5s that I can try, but I still sometimes struggle at the end of the 15 lbs!)

    Have fun clubbing! 🙂

  2. judie611 permalink
    November 30, 2008 10:32 AM

    You go!!! Your routine is very inspiring. How was your night out???

    Judie

  3. robfitness permalink
    November 30, 2008 12:09 PM

    Sounds like you have a lot of energy and great job on your workout. Oh, to be young again! I miss that. 🙂

    So how did everything go? Did you dance all night? By the way how’s the hand holding up. Hopefully it’s not causing you any problems.

    I sure am enjoying my week-end off from working out. Like all good things that will come to an end Monday morning. Then it will be cardio-weight training- then more cardio. the good news is that I am on vacation starting Monday morning and won’t have to go back to work till December 12th. Sorry about bragging about that. I am just staying put here in Las Vegas and plan on doing some good workouts, maybe a boot-camp day and if the wetaher holds up maybe some hiking.

    Thanks for listening to my venting and all. It’s nice to have people in your life that knows and understands what we go through, especially with our workouts.

    Have a great day and keep it up. You’re doing GREAT!

  4. November 30, 2008 12:49 PM

    Alyce those presses are just evil sometimes! I read a blog somewhere that someone strapped ankle weights to the dumbell to increase them by 2.5 rather than the full 5 lbs. I’m thinking it was one of you three since it’s your guys’ blogs that I follow (and B’s blog). To lazy (and tired still) to go find it. I’m going to give that a try because it’d be cheaper than plate buddies I’m sure and easy to find some to buy.

    Judie, night out went great! Sister didn’t get out on the dance floor till 11 and her and I were the first two out there. We had a great time. She had a few beers and as usual I drove (I don’t drink). We were on the floor till 2 am and I was in bed about 4 am. Just got up about 40 min ago (yes, at 1 in the afternoon!).

    Rob, most people in my day to day life have no idea why I even do what I do. When I complain or bitch about something (like being sore) I always get the advice to quit. Quitting, in this case, is not an option! The best support I’ve found is online. I think since starting this blog and finding you guys, I have so much more motivation. And part of that is because I’ve got someone who understands the soreness, time, effort, and reasons behind what we’re doing. I think I’ll be better able to stick to my long term plans because of you all 🙂

    And the hand is doing well. Some soreness along the side but it’s more the shoulder now. That didn’t hurt the first day, but the next day I could feel it. Both aren’t too bad and the pain is less every day so I think all will be well 🙂

  5. Chris Brown permalink
    November 30, 2008 5:49 PM

    That’s always a good feeling isn’t it, to get past the “am-I-going-to-puke-soon” workouts…way to go!!!

    Last week, was pretty busy with papers, presentations, and in-class finals, soo ya I was slacking a little on my own blog. Then I come here, and you put me to shame by posting every day!

    Also, I see you got festive with the theme change!

  6. November 30, 2008 6:27 PM

    Glad to see you again though. I’ll head over soon and see if you’ve posted. Hoping your finals went well!

    Posting daily helps me stay on track so that’s part of the reason I keep up with daily posting. It’d get easy to cheat or skip a day if I didn’t have a way to keep myself accountable.

Leave a Reply

