Skip to content

Five Reasons I Need a Personal Trainer

November 25, 2008

5) For when I complain about being sore there is someone who is being paid to pretend to care. My husband just rolls over and snores.

4) So someone can tell me when I do stupid things like put dumbbells over my shoulders and not place them far up enough on my traps and cause bruises on my clavicle. Yes, I really did do that.

3) For there to be someone else to tell me “3 more reps!!!” in a cheery cheerleadery type voice. When I do it for myself, I do not sound cheery.

2) So I can beg someone else to let me have the day off, maybe they’d give in to my whining more than I give in to myself.

And the number one reason:

1) So my co-workers will stop looking at me like I’m nuts for the programs I do. I can just Blame My Trainer!!!

So, yeah, the girls at work think I’m absolutely nuts for the programs I do. But that’s okay, because I really do enjoy them. This lastest one is killer, but it’s good.

As for todays routine: Workout A (really workout B)

Superset One: Front Squat- upped by 10 lbs, Underhand Lat- did all reps on this resistance but sticking to it for my next set because I was barely able to finish my last two, Step up- increased by 10 lbs and will increase another 10 next time, lastly the dumbbell push press. Able to barely do all reps this time though did not increase from last time. Last time couldn’t complete all reps and this was the first time I did all of them.

Superset two: Squat- will up by just five lbs next time, wide grip lat pulldown- will up by 1 level of resistance, step up- upped by 10 in this set and will leave them there for next time, shoulder press, did all reps and will increase by 10 lbs next time.

Swiss ball crunch. Upped by 10 for today and will up another ten for next time.

In total, increasing weight/resistance on 5 out of 9 of the exercises next time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2008 8:54 PM

    I give you a TON of credit for doing what you do all on your own. I need to be told what to do. I agree that you would love my trainer…he puts up with all my crap. but I have come such a long way with him so I think he figures it is worth it. It is so nice to have someone to blame everything on. I constantly text him telling him how sore I am and how much I hate him for it. He takes a ton of abuse from me. But he knows deep down I love him. Plus, he’s really really really good looking (and built!), very easy on the eyes. My motivation is to not look wimpy in front of my hot trainer. I lost over 30lbs with that motivation!

  2. judie611 permalink
    November 26, 2008 12:48 PM

    Hell, I would want YOU as my trainer! Have you ever thought about becoming a trainer? I have worked with trainers in the past but never clicked with one in particular. As I write on my blog, I prefer classes. This way I get the fun (for me) of a group setting but with the added benefit of someone telling me what to do 🙂 Judie http://judiesjuice.wordpress.com/

  3. robfitness permalink
    November 26, 2008 1:53 PM

    I have to agree with all your reason too. I know I wouldn’t be were I am today if it wasn’t for my trainer continuing to motivate me and to tell me. 3 more reps or even calling me we a wimp when I tell him. Like “hell”.
    I think my co-workers think that my trainer is a part of my family with how I constantly talk about him.
    He is a great guy though that really knows his stuff and is beginning to really get into my head.

    Your blog post are really good, you know. I need to start adding variety to keep it light at times. I just hope that all my posts about my workouts aren’t boring everyone.
    Your doing good though in all that you do. It just shows how much a personal trainer can really impact our lives. All for the better too.
    Hope you have a wonderful, safe and healthy Thanksgiving.

  4. November 26, 2008 7:54 PM

    Why do you need a trainer, when you have all of US?

    Only three more reps! Push it out, Nancy!

  5. November 26, 2008 8:16 PM

    Lisa, I’d get into way to much trouble with a buff trainer! He sounds awesome though (and cute 😉 ).

    Judie, I did think about it a couple years ago and went into physical therapy instead. I’m thinking when I finish my Ultrasound degree I’ll go back for my personal trainer certificate but I don’t know who I’d train because I don’t go to gyms at all. And right now, I don’t feel like I “look” like a trainer, so I need those two years!

    Rob, I love reading about your workouts! You’re definitely not boring. I like to see what other people are doing and just see that they’re dedicated -which you are, because that’s what motivates me.

    Hey there B. You are right, you’re all great :). Especially now since when I start to wimp out on a set I’m going to think of you calling me Nancy… I suppose I don’t need the buff trainer after I print out your pics in lifesize form ;).

  6. trainmas permalink
    January 13, 2009 12:51 PM

    And the number one reason to use a personal trainer is when your brain says “that is it, I can’t do any more” and the trainer says “PUSH”. Major muscle development occurs when your muscles are exhausted and you continue to push. The body responds by building muscle fiber…that is your goal!! Stay with it.

    • January 13, 2009 7:06 PM

      Thanks Trainmas for the comment :). I haven’t had a personal trainer since the one guy tried to get me to join a spinning class. Not my bag of tea :). I see many others have great trainers, but so far and probably forever, I’ll be my own trainer relying on books and info from great sites on the web. Do you have a site? I’m guessing you’re a trainer. I’m always looking for info on teh best way to meet my goals.

  7. January 13, 2009 7:28 PM

    Thanks for replying back to me. Your 5 reasons I loved reading and smiling. I can be found at http://www.weightliftingtrainer.com

    Richard

Leave a Reply

