Skip to content

Near Death Experience…

November 17, 2008

During my workout, I was thinking how can I express my feelings to trainer Alwyn Cosgrove for the routine. I think the best way to do that would to be hunt him down and strangle him… except I dont think I could lift my arms to chest height and I beleive his neck is higher than my chest. I’d knock him down to strangle him, but I can barely stand. In fact, if my arms would have been functional I would have crawled up my basement steps. After all those step ups in this routine, raising my leg from one step to the next was nearly impossible.

So Alwyn, I hate you, but I love you. The workout was hell, but it was great.

I marked them wrong so I did workout B today (marked as A).

My workout was really a near death experience as this title would suggest. Superset one starts with a front squat but I switched it out to a dumbell squat. Then directly to the chin up. I did try it with the stool and it did work well but I can’t go full range without attempting to strangle myself on the cord that runs through the beams right above my power tower. So, I need to move my power tower. I wasn’t going to do it mid-routine so I did the underhand lat pull down for the rest. From the chin up/lat pulldown went directly to the step up and right from there to the DB push press. Then finally, FINALLY, a rest. For 60 seconds only, then repeat 3 more times. I did take nearly 90 seconds for most and took 2 min for my very last set of the four for this superset. I took nearly three in between SS1 and SS2 for set up.

I had no real issues except holding the dumbells on the step up. My arms were getting REALLY REALLY tired. I hooked them over my shoulders but that kind of hurt a bit after doing one side so it was hard to do both that way.

Superset two went from squat to wide grip lat pull down to step up right into the shoulder press all in a row without rest. Then at the end, 60 second rest. Then repeat, just once so total two times through this set.

No issues during my second superset except again with the dumbbells with the step ups. No other adaptions during this set.

Last set was the swiss ball crunch two sets as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2008 9:48 AM

    Oh, I knew that was coming. Don’t get too bulky! ^_____^

  2. November 18, 2008 9:18 PM

    LOL, at least I held down my supper! It was a close call :).

Leave a Reply

