Skip to content

To Eat or Not To Eat (before a workout)

November 15, 2008

Some people swear by eating after, others swear before.

I think it’s probably better to eat a meal afterward but a snack before if it’s been more than 3-4 hours since the last meal.

What I think… Carb snack before a workout for quick energy. Protien meal afterward for good recovery.

I have not been following my own advice :(.

I had been eating about an hour before my workout by about an hour. I’m going to try eating afterward by doing my workout earlier. I usually work out around 7 or 8 pm, sometimes even later. That is when I have the most energy typically. However it’s also late and I should be in bed. We eat supper late as well so sometimes it’s only 45 min after eating.

I know when I used to run in the morning, if I ate, I’d feel like I was going to puke. So I’d have a cup of applesauce then go run. The applesauce was enough to not make me puke but enough to keep me going. I don’t run anymore though. And I don’t lift in the morning. It’s not recommended to lift until at least 1-2 hours after waking up. Since I get up 15 min before I leave for work, that just doesn’t work for me to lift in the AM anyway.

If I lift RIGHT AWAY when I get home, it’ll be about 5 hours after my last meal. Which, for me, is too long for me to be all that effective. So I need a solution so I can lift, then have supper after. I need a small carb snack for on my drive home so then when I get home I can go lift. That’d put about a half hour between snack and lifting. I’m thinking a few sugar packets will do ;). Just teasing. I’ve sworn off the sugar packets. I will eat no more sugar packets. Will NOT do it. I’ll have a candy bar instead… hehe 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2008 9:32 PM

    I go between 9:30 am and 10:30 am, so I can hit my breakfast rush (not hungry, not full, max energy). Then i have my whey protein recovery drink about 30 minutes afterwards (time enough for a shower), then back to the grind.

    You changed your avatar. Cool!

  2. November 17, 2008 8:53 PM

    That time frame, midpoint between meals, would be good. Energy for me is pretty low all day though, peaking around 7pm. I think I need to retrain myself to be more altert and high energy at different times of day. I had good intentions today to come home, lift, then eat. Then J called said he was eating out with the guys from work. Then all I wanted was fries… managed to avoid them just barely but ate before working out again.

Leave a Reply

