Skip to content

To or not to warm up… that is my dilemma

November 11, 2008

Don’t get me wrong, I know I’m SUPPOSED to warm up. But that doesnt mean I like to do it.

First warming up is NOT getting on a peice of equipment like the treadmill. Nor is it going for a walk. And stretching isn’t a warm up either. If they were, I still wouldn’t like to warm up.

The best warm up, I know, is to just do my lifts with a low weight to warm up for that specific thing and then to do my actual lift. And I don’t do this. I don’t do it because it takes time to change the plates on my bar. yeah, I’m using that excuse. Even though I have a floor full of dumbells because I’m too cheap to use anything except my bar in the basement as a rack (Bar for alcohol, yes it really has become my dumbell rack). It’d be easy enough to use the dumbells with my warm up, but I’m going to continue to pretend that I don’t know that.

So instead, I do some light calisthenics to warm up. I do walking lunges, side to side lunges- sometimes with a knee lift for fun, some squats also occasionally with a knee lift or some “flare” like a random kick or something, some push ups (sometimes off my bench depending on how lazy I am that day). I do that for about 5 min going back and forth from one thing to the next till I get bored. I see there are no pulls in this and I’m okay with that. Pushing probably uses similar joints as pulling so I’m going to use that as my excuse for not doing any pulling in my warm up. At least I do a little warm up, eh? No?

I guess, I am suprised at my own lazyness when it comes to my warm up. You’d think that anyone who spends 40 min lifting and 20-30 min more doing cardio of some sort would have a decent warm up. But I dont. And I don’t because I’m so damn lazy. I guess I’d think if someone else were doing my routine, I’d guess that they were not a lazy person. What kind of lazy person does my routine? Me, that’s who.

Saddest part, I have no intentions of becoming unlazy in the near future either. Sad but true. I suppose at least a little warm up is better than no warm up… yeah, that’s what I’m going to tell myself.

Dont follow my example, do a warm up :). It’s better for your body and helps prevent injury if you warm up.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2008 6:57 PM

    I bet you just posted this minutes ago. Who’s the stalker now? I am seriously so edgy today – I feel great and hate missing the gym. And I’ll do it tomorrow too.
    GAH.

    Anyway, I always warm up a group of muscles (as opposed to every exercise – that takes a lot of time) using a mid-range amount of weight, 6 to 8 reps, and really focus on squeezing or straining the muscles to get the blood into them. It really doesn’t take long.

    As for changing plates – I, too, am lazy. Therefore, I often stack smaller plates (like 25 lb), not the largest and heaviest I plan to lift, in combination with even smaller plates (10 lb and 5 lb), and simply remove plates as I reduce weight. I also start heavy and work down, after warming up. It doesn’t *look* as impressive that way, but it cuts down the effort of swapping weights around and lets me spend that energy lifting.

    Hope you are feeling better. Warm up next time. ^___^

  2. November 11, 2008 8:40 PM

    I’m sitting here, taking a few minute break from studying. Yep, you get the stalker points today ;).

    I am feeling better. And I’m contemplating warming up with just the bar or something. Or maybe grabbing my old 15 lb weights for my warmup and being a girl for five minutes. Scary thought.

    I don’t even swap my weights out. If I can do the alloted reps the first set, then I’ll just do reps to failure for the rest. Though sometimes for three sets I can do all reps, usually with difficulty. If I can do three sets with full reps, I up my weight. Seriously, I’m the most lazy weightlifter I know. I’m amazed by reading this that I even get myself down into my basement 4 times a week. (cept this week cuz I’m off 😉 )

Leave a Reply

