Skip to content

My favorite superset

November 10, 2008

is also the one I hate the most.

It’s the bulgarian split squat with overhead press as the first half. And honestly, you could put anything or nothing with that and it’d still be my favorite. I hate that one more than anything. It’s the most evil, heartless, cruel exercise I’ve ever done. And I love it.

It’s not easy to do. Standing on one leg with the other leg behind you resting with the top of your foot on the bench is very hard for balance. Then to bring your butt down so your front knee is nearly 90, if you can handle that without tipping over, kudo’s to you. Then, whilst you stand there (sort of) attempting not to fall over, being expected to raise dumbells overhead and STILL not fall over. Hell it’s a miracle I survived my last routine. I guess the fear of being carried out of my home in my “custom” workout appalling apparel was enough to keep me on my feet.

If I had to pair that with an upper body exercise it’d have to be a pull because of the overhead press with that. Or if it didn’t have an overhead press included, maybe I’d use the press as the second half. But with the press, the lat pull down would have to go with it. And I do so love the underhand lat pulldown. It’s just as evil with the amount of resistance I throw at it (resistance level 12, no idea how many pounds that correlates to). I’d love to try it with a chin up but after that bulgarian split squat a seated lat pull down is about all I can handle. I think it’d be death to try to actually pull myself up.

If you haven’t tried that superset, give it a shot of course if you’re medically cleared and have a decent understanding of what I’m talking about. If you have no idea what I’m talking about buy NROL and come back. Yeah, I love that book and will shamelessly promote it (and they don’t even know I exist!). So if you try this, try it at your own risk. I don’t get paid enough to pay for someone else’s injuries. I am a student :). Don’t even ask how I fit going to school into my week. That’ll just get me into another if I have time, you have time post. And, rediculously enough, I had time to stare at my ceiling in my living room for nearly a half hour yesterday. Just couldn’t think of anything else I wanted to do. No, I am not going to put my laundry away. Not till later tonight. Maybe. Better to stare at the ceiling I think.

I noticed looking back at the past week or two that I talk a lot about getting old. I suppose my line of work is the biggest part of that. But the other side of that is, well, we all get old. And there’s nothing we can do to stop the aging process. But there are things we can do to make aging not such the death sentence… Like, uhm, staying fit.

So I’m feeling a little sarcastic today. Could be that I don’t feel great. Could be that I’m just odd some days :).

Also last night, after chatting with a friend online here, I hopped in the shower. And I took forever in the shower because soaping my biceps made me realize, hell, my biceps look good! So anyway, there I stood in the shower, flexing my biceps and admiring my shoulders ;). I am not a dork, I swear. I think I lost one IQ point for each flex. Next thing you know, I’ll be taking creatine and steroids. And getting a gruff voice and growing facial hair. I better stop flexing in the shower… just not safe.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2008 1:16 AM

    Try doing legs and finishing off your workout with a bodyweight matrix. Have you gotten to that stage yet? Those suck more than anything has ever sucked before.

    I like to flex in my bathroom mirror because the lighting is just right. 🙂 Yes, I too am guilty of admiring my shoulders and biceps. Sometimes I check myself out in the gym and hope it’s not too obvious what I’m doing.

    Hey, we’ve worked hard for our arms, so we have every right to check ourselves out! 🙂

  2. robfitness permalink
    November 12, 2008 12:36 PM

    Hi there…
    Yes I am back so you don’t have to hunt me down. not that i wouldn’t mind it. 🙂

    The past few days have been a bit busy for me and I got lazy in my blog postings. Well today i caught up with them all and posted quite a bit. It’s amazing the energy I have on my off days from work.

    Now as far as warming up… I am guilty too. I haven’t warmed up at all. Maybe it is laziness on my part too but I just don’t think I have the time to make warming up a part of my routine. So far I don’t feel like I have suffered any ill side effects of not warming up.

    Still love reading your posts. There so informative and parts I really get a smile out of. Keep up the great work your doing.

  3. November 12, 2008 10:04 PM

    I’ve not done a bodyweight matrix unless you mean like a bodyweight routine? I guess I’m not sure what a bodyweight matrix is :). I caught myself flexing again…

    Rob, I was just over vising you. You have made amazing progress!

Leave a Reply

