Skip to content

Clean Eating is Not For Whimps

November 9, 2008

Clean eating is not for whimps! So, I was reading my bible again last night (that’d be New Rules of Lifting).

NROL author recommends the 40/30/30 for carbs/fat/protien and 1gram protien per pound of body weight but states that it’s flexible because 30 percent of 1800 cals is much different from 30% of 3000 cals for protien. (BTW, 40/30/30 is also the zone diet protocol).

The book goes by a “three degrees” of clean eating. Meaning, if you cant picture the food coming from it’s natural source in three steps or less, then dont eat it. Meat would be one step. Animal to meat. Or animal to milk. Or tree to fruit. And veggies of course.

They make a couple exceptions. Protein powder is the first exception, protein bars are in the third category, and bread I beleive  is in the second category. Whole grain bread, not white. Then there are some “garbage” foods. Like baked goods (particularly storebought bakery). They didn’t include french fries anywhere. I’m guessing the author must think I’d be smart enough to know they’re garbage… but… okay french fry free for over a week except for one fry on Friday because I forgot I wasn’t supposed to eat them and I wasn’t about to puke it up. I’m really not that crazy. So I’m calling today day 12 of 21. And I’m damn proud of me. I cant wait to get started on my next 21 day goal. This next one is adding in. I think each time I’ll alternate. eliminate something, add something… And hopefully by the time this next 21 days is over,

I think my nutrition goals will to get to that “three degree’s”. It might take me a year to get there, but I’ll get there.

I’m also going to try to learn to like yogurt mixed with my protein powder. I hate the texture of yogurt (and pudding, and really anything that is slimey). But I’m going to like it if it’s the last thing I do.

Lastly, Still on WW and still not liking it much. Hanging in there.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2008 12:01 AM

    I have an unhealthy obsession with french fries too. McDonald’s fries were my favorite. So to curb that craving, I now make sweet potato oven fries. Sweet potatoes I believe are lower on the glycemic index and have more vitamins and nutrients. It should comply with the three degrees rule too. Oh, and try drizzling a little bit of truffle oil on them after they come out of the oven. Mmm…

    My yogurt concoction is plain nf yogurt with chocolate protein powder and a little bit of peanut butter. Takes a little bit of getting used to, but I like it! 🙂

  2. November 10, 2008 6:12 PM

    To think I went years without a french fry… and now… tears!

    I’ll get over them. And I’m doing better than I thought would so that’s a good sign.

    Next time I go to the store I’m going to look at the yogurt. Don’t know if I’ll bring myself to buy any, but looking at it is a start. Though secretly (or not so secretly) i’m wondering if strawberry applesause with protien powder would be to scary…

  3. November 12, 2008 1:11 AM

    That does sound scary. Let me know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

