Skip to content

Yeah, still sick.

November 8, 2008

Anyone interested can click the kettlebelle body link on the left. They’re doing a 30 day challenge for women starting tomorrow. Not much time, I know, but it might be fun just to join in late and get in better shape rather than to join the official challenge.

Doing my daily post is going to be a short one today. I’ve been out of bed since 4pm and shortly I will return to bed. This has been a rough two weeks. Every time I get better, I get even more sick the following day then the last time. Barely able to breathe or speak. Most of my day was spent wispering to my family to have them bring me food in bed. My daughter made me soup and brought it to me in bed, too. She did pretty good making it, too. Husband had minor surgery yesterday so this is really a bad day for all of us. My daughter did good though keeping everything running here at home. I’m babysitting my neice and nephew tonight. They’re watching a movie right now and then it’ll be off to bed for them (so I can go back to bed).

Today and tomorrow are my lifting days but I will not be lifting. I’m feeling  horrible enough to not lift :(. I’m taking the next two days off and then next week is my scheduled off week. Coming just in time.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2008 12:58 PM

    Two weeks? is this a cold, flu, etc.? The time off from the gym will help – hopefully you can get time off from work too. Get better soon!

  2. November 9, 2008 5:15 PM

    I’m pretty certain it’s two seperate colds. Last week it was a really sore throat and some stuffiness. This weeks is still stuffiness and lack of being able to breathe, no sore throat but loss of voice. I think that because I wasn’t fully recovered from the first one, I came down with the second one.

    No time off work but I do have a slow week coming up. I might even work less than 40 hours! I’m expecting about 36-38 based on our patient load right now.

  3. monicasrecipes permalink
    November 9, 2008 5:57 PM

    LOL – my husband kinda demanded I do a better job of explaining the chains. He says that you attach them to the ends of the bar along with the weight. When you do a bench press or dead lift or whatever, as you lift the bar, the chains leave the floor (long chains? you bet) the resistance increases. You can move quickly at the beginning of the rep and then as the resistance rises you build power at the precise point at which you need it. For athletes like his baseball players who have to be strong and quick when they swing the bat, this is great.

    I’m no competitive athlete so I don’t really care!

    Monica

  4. November 9, 2008 7:15 PM

    Thanks Monica, I might give that a try when I get to the strength building part of my program.

    The baseball player at Play it Again Sports didn’t seem to really know what a kettlebell was except that it was the thing in the corner. I think he was still in highschool.

    I’ve heard many times that power is very important as we age and that we loose power before we loose strength. Power is important in preventing falls, too.

Leave a Reply

