Skip to content

Stayin’ Fit

November 6, 2008

So today I was working with a patient. She walked 14 feet today for the first time in months. You might think this is nothing. You might think that’ll never be you. But it could be. I bet she thought it’d never be her. Bad things happen in life. Surgeries, illnesses, broken bones (like that hip), and pain. Any of those things can decrease mobility. And so many people use that as an excuse to let themselves be taken care of- pain in particular. And then slowly so they don’t notice so much, they aren’t able to do things for themselves. Little by little… until they are unable to live on their own. Then they’re in a nursing home. And SOOO many people give up once their in a nursing home.

Don’t let that be you without a fight. Stay strong. Even when it gets tough, at least go for a walk. Keep moving. Don’t let living kill you.

Okay, I’m getting depressing. Just thinking about my patients and how many of them could still be on their own if they wouldn’t have given up- other than the dementia patients. Dementia is different.

Workout went well. No major concerns. Today was workout B. Snatch Grip Deadlifts went well. Upped the weight. Doubling with that was the T-push up and again had the elbow issue. I was going to go get one of those neoprene sleeves to place over my elbow. Think that might help because I’m pretty certain it’s a tendon of my tricep muscle that is not staying where it’s supposed to. It’s actually one of the more common issues. I know it’s a tendon, just can’t remember for certain if it’s with the tricep or not.

Next superset was the split squat with overhead press and the underhand grip lat pulldown. I upped the resistance last time on the lat pulldown on my third set. I wasn’t able to do all reps with that resistance, but the resistance down one was too easy.

Last superset upped the weight by 5 lbs on the romanian deadlift with bent over row. Doubled with that was the lower body russian twist, which my cat again tried to do with me.

Now for complaining. So today was day two on weight watchers. I was allotted 21 points, plus two for my workout. Total 23. Used 24. One point over and only 1125 calories. Which is crazy. That is soooo low. But I get 35 flex points (of which I’ve used two).

The good part of all this is that I’ve really had to decide if that chocolate is worth the point because that’ll mean that I’ll get less protein. Today I only hit 78 grams of protien and my goal for lift days is 80-100. So a bit disappointing. Especially since there was no “junk” today. Yesterday I had a sticky bun so I know I could have gotten more protein yesterday. But today I felt like I made all good choices and still came up short.

I’ll stick with this at least two weeks before I toss in the towel on it.

Lastly, I’ve decided to drop my last two workouts on this routine so I can start and stop as the week begins and ends rather than halfway through. I started halfway through a week and I hate that for planning in the future. Besides I’m still sick so stopping at the end of this week to take a week off is probably a good idea. It’s likely that I’ll do some bodyweight circuts next week so look forward to those postings ;). Otherwise, I’ve got some topics to bring up yet.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2008 1:20 PM

    I call it fighting back against old age. One big reason for this lifestyle change I have made is to not be either a dead dad in my fifties or sixties, or a medical burden to my family. Either way, I would not get to enjoy my kids growing up, having their own families. I wince when I see people who I’ve seen walk choosing to ride a scooter in the supermarket or out and about. They are almost always older and overweight. Maybe they have no other options; maybe they did all they could before ending up at that point. But that’s a lot of maybes. Maybe I don’t wanna be where they are…

  2. robfitness permalink
    November 8, 2008 2:17 PM

    So I am now partial to be blamed for your recent purchase. 🙂 Glad I could be of help though.Until you posted that comment I didn’t realize that’s what they were called. Either way it was a good workout and hope to keep using them in the future.
    Keep up the great work your doing. I really enjoy reading your blog, it’s very informative.
    Best of luck with WW. I am sure that you’ll do fine. Just stay focused and motivated and all things will be possible and before you know it new doors will open for you.
    Take Care!

  3. November 8, 2008 5:55 PM

    Yep, I blame you Rob! Glad you enjoyed your workout. I’ll be using those damn things, too. They do look so fun!

    Hi again Symbolik. Lots of maybe’s is right. But like you, I’m going to do all I can do to avoid a similar fate. Even if it hurts, walking hasn’t killed anyone that I know of.

  4. November 9, 2008 12:43 PM

    The first couple weeks of WW can be difficult — especially for someone who is very physically active. I think you are supposed to eat half of your activity points? Maybe something to bring up in a meeting.

    Stick with it — the results are worthwhile.

    Good luck.

  5. November 9, 2008 5:20 PM

    First couple weeks are hell! I get to add on one point for every 100 cals burned but still is way low on cals. Sticking with it though for now :). It’s a work thing so we’re not “official” weight watchers but we’re playing by the rules.

Leave a comment