Skip to content

What if I get bulky!?!

November 1, 2008

So along with showing pictures of my power tower to people at work I always get the “I’ll get bulky” response from, well, every female. You never hear a guy say “I’ll get bulky”. Men for some reason understand that they need to work at getting bulky and that staring at a weight over 15 lbs will NOT get them bulky. Women on the other hand (at least ones I meet IRL) are afraid they’ll get bulky. They have some weird genetic trait, they’re predisposed… I’ve heard it all.

Well, if women could get “bulky” so damn “easily” there would be a hell of a lot more women bodybuilders. They’d be sending women to the front lines instead of men. Women would be the “bulk” of the construction industry if we could get bulky (silly pun intended).

These fears are irrational. Really. They are. They are not founded on real data or studies. Women don’t suddenly sprout 100cm biceps (okay, rediculous, right?) by curling actual weight.

To gain muscle, generally, you need a caloric surplus. Or, instead with that caloric surplus, you could gain just fat by keep lifting those 15 lb dumbells. And even if you gain muscle, the muscle will not be so “bulky” unless you actually dedicate real time and effort into building muscle. Building muscle is not easy and just being a weight lifter will not turn you into a body builder.

Okay, that’s it :).

Mundane stuff:
Workout today went well. Legs were shakey afterward and this post will have to be done soon because we’re leaving to go to a haunted house.
Still sick.
Ate horribly all day and proud of it ;).
Tried SHELC’s with one leg for this workout and I’m not ready. I’m thinking I’ll be able to do my first set next time with single leg.
Front squat… giving up. Straps didn’t really help either. And I’m not dedicated enough to keep trying and trying.

K, that’s all :).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. seasofsilver permalink
    November 1, 2008 3:08 AM

    My Mother (who is almost 100 lbs overweight) has for YEARS told me she wont lift weights because she doesn’t want to get bulky! RIDICULOUS!!!!! Also she has osteoporosis and NEEDS to lift weights to strengthen her bones! ACK!

    Awesome blog FYI Happy Halloween!

    http://www.seasofsiler.wordpress.com

  2. November 1, 2008 3:23 AM

    Too many people have that misconception. Osteoporosis is a horrible thing to have, see it all too often at work. I hope she is able to prevent further bone loss and get over the fear of weights, though she probably would need a doctor to tell her what she is safely able to do with her condition.

    Thanks and Happy Halloween to you, too!

  3. robfitness permalink
    November 1, 2008 5:45 AM

    HI there…
    Remember me, I am your stalkee! 🙂 What an awesome blog you have going here. Am new to lifting weight and look forward to hearing your input on things. After all we are all here to get and keep fit and to help one another if possible. It’s very informative.
    Now you ask me about my heart rate monitor. I use a chest strap one too, It’s called a “polar” and it uses a watch too. I have been using it for a year now and without any problems. Another aspect that I like about it is that when I am on the equipment at the gym (Treadmill, Bike, Stairmaster, Elliptical) I don’t have to wear the watch because the equipment there recognizes my monitor and displays it on the machine. The only time I have to wear the watch is when I am running outside or doing laps. For me this is such an added benefit. Hope this information has helped you out.
    Keep up the great work.

  4. November 1, 2008 3:32 PM

    Wow, you post a lot. It helps being a good writer, I guess. Anyway, my wife says the exact same thing. I can’t shake her loose from it, but she does exercise well, just not with strength training in mind. I also think that when you are sick – stay away from the gym. Just get better first. Your workouts will suck if you are sick, you can injure yourself more easily, and it may even prolong illness. Get rest – it’s easier to bounce back from that. Life won’t really care if you miss a week to get better, and you can always make it up. You might even seem a little stronger on your first day back.

    Hope you feel better soon!

  5. November 1, 2008 8:25 PM

    Rob, thanks :). I saw one that is able to be used with and without the strap. It’s pricey, and I am a bit afraid I’ll be let down. I wanted a strapless for when I swim, but I’m starting to think from the things I’ve read online that the strap is the best way to go. Others were having issues with their Mio, too, so maybe it’s more of just that brand.

    Hi! Yeah, I do post a lot. Not a good writer, just bored ;). Not enough to do between work, workouts, and homework ;). I didn’t make it on IM this week and have a half hour till 6 children arrive but hopefully we’ll chat soon :). I’m anticipating your next weekly check in!

    I really am feeling quite good. No more sore throat or headache, but still the stuffy nose :(.

  6. November 6, 2008 2:36 PM

    Hi, I linked here through Rob’s blog…Wanted to tell you about my heart rate monitor. I have the Nike Imara womens HRM watch. It has a chest strap and works pretty good EXCEPT it doesn’t work with certain cardio equipment (the elliptical at my gym OR my treadmill at home!) Apparently it interfers with the crappy built in heart rate monitor on the machines. But it works great when running outside or taking classes. and the watch is a womens watch so it is small and cute. I am pretty sure the whole thing is waterproof, including the chest strap, so you could use it swimming. It was only around $100. I have heard that the Polar ones are much better, but they are also more expensive.

    BTW–I like your blog. You seem very focused, like me, except you do it on your own and I have a crazy trainer. I wish I had it in me to just do it on my own, but I SUCK on my own!

  7. November 6, 2008 10:06 PM

    LOL, I am my own crazy trainer ;). Not so much the last two weeks. I hate having a cold, but it could be worse. I’m not too worried about the watch working with equipment because I don’t have any so as long as it works on it’s own (unlike my crappy miozone) I’ll be happy.

    I was at sears the other day and it looked like they had some with the chest strap with the strap being waterproof but they were locked in so I couldn’t read the back of the box. I still didn’t buy one yet, but soon I hope!

Trackbacks

  1. What Way is the Right Way to Weight Train? « For The Life Of Me

Leave a Reply

